Posted by: Lauren | January 23, 2011

apple crisp duel

So the Bears didn’t make it. 😦 Normally, I don’t really like football, but I actually got into it tonight, and it got me so nervous! After they lost, I thought, “Well at least I don’t have to go through that again in 2 weeks!” Hah-that’s the spirit!

I also ate my weight in potato chips, peanut butter m&m’s and apple crisp today….

I think I might start sweating the scent of cinnamon, sugar, and apples.

Seriously, one time I made granola at night, and when I worked out the next morning, I smelled the granola! I know, I know, it’s weird, but I swear! I just kept thinking, “Wow, I smell so good!”

Please don’t stop reading my blog…

Last night after going out to dinner with our friends (Hi Ashley!), we came back to have some apple crisp (from my box o’ cheap apples). I found the recipe for Maple-Walnut Apple Crisp, from Cooking Light. I made it before dinner, than warmed it for about a minute in the microwave when we came home. At first I didn’t think that I was really wowed by it, but when I went back for more later than night and really got it hot, I liked it a lot more. It has a great crunch to it from the oats and walnuts, and not overwhelmingly sweet.

image

image

Then today, when my parents, Katie, and Sam came over for the football game, I made Tina’s “BEST Apple Crisp,” which my family absolutely raved about. My dad actually said, “This is the best apple crisp I’ve ever had!” 🙂 I followed the recipe, except that I peeled my apples, just so that there was a more even comparison to yesterday’s peeled apple crisp. I really liked how easy this was to make! 

image

image

So my verdict? I liked them both! I can’t decide, but I think if I were to make this for a crowd again, I would go with Tina’s recipe. Joe agrees. 🙂

For dinner I made another crowd pleaser that you’ve seen before, Turkey Bean Stoup, in the slow cooker. I cooked some brown basmati rice on the stovetop and scooped some of that in a bowl before topping with the turkey mix and cheese.

image

I love how easy, tasty, and healthy this recipe is-full of protein from the ground turkey, pinto beans, and kidney beans, and lots of veggies like celery, onions, carrots, and diced tomatoes. Add some water, garlic powder, cumin, oregano, and salt, and you’re all set. And like I’ve said before, it makes a lot!

I hope you all have a great week. Jesus wants to walk it with us. That’s where my joy is found-in Him. When I think I can do things on my own, or I’m fearful, or fill-in-the-blank, I’m encouraged by the Truth of His Word. He deserves first place, not just because He’s God, but because He loves us so much and knows that we only find lasting satisfaction when He is at the center, because we’ve been created to know Him and walk closely with Him.

Zephaniah 3:17, "The Lord your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing." (NIV)

“For the Lord your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.” (NLT)

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. I loved the apple crisp last night.. I actually wish i had some more tonight after we had dinner!! We had a great time at dinner last night and had fun just hanging out in your cozy house. David and I both really LOVED your guys house. I love to see you are blogging so much!! I have to get back into blogging before i forget how… 🙂 sorry the bears lost.( i was look forward to the steelers beating them in the Superbowl! ) 🙂

  2. Da Bears…..Da Poor Bears!!! Richard was bummed too and even more bummed that the Steelers won. He’s tired of the same team winning all of the time. Ay-ya-ya! Sounds like a fun day with the fam, watching the game though. Very cool! The apple crisps look sooooo yummy!! Miss you!

  3. Just wanted to give you a heads up… If Ree stops by your site, i sent her!! LOL I wrote her a email, cause i need a recipe for pork loin and she only has 1 so i was telling her she was awesome and would be even more awesome if she could post more loin recipes. So i told her i bought to cookbooks 1 for me and 1 for you, and that i didnt even know you liked her i just wanted to see more butter on your food blog and that if she ever had time she should check out your blog cause you are kinda awesome too.. Just wanted to let you know!!! 🙂 Hope you are making yummy food to make Joe feel better!!!

  4. i would have to agree that was the best apple crisp i’ve ever had!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories