Posted by: Lauren | January 21, 2011

good for your heart

2 new posts in 12 hours?! Unreal. I was so excited to share with you this morning, so here I am.

The past few days I’ve been loving a hot bowl of oat bran, covered with fruit, peanut butter, and honey. Did you know oat bran was good for you heart? I’m sure you did. But I’m going to tell you anyways, I mean, this is my blog.

This sweet heart bowl (Thank you Aunt Kathy!) contains soluble fiber, which your heart likes, because it lowers your LDL (bad) cholesterol. Some other good things about oat bran? It has 7 grams of protein for each cup of cooked oat bran, almost 6 grams of fiber (compared to 4g for oatmeal). I eat oatmeal all the time too, but sometimes I just like to switch it up! It’s also filled with minerals like iron, magnesium and phosphorus. It’s also good for your heart because it has the vitamin thiamin, also known as B1, which is necessary for your heart and nerves to function properly.

Thanks for sharing in our mini health class blurb of the day! Sources from here and here.

IMG_6054

Oat Bran with Fruit, Honey, and Peanut Butter

  • 1/4 cup dry oat bran
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp chia seeds or flax seeds (optional)
  • dash of salt
  • few shakes cinnamon
  • little glug of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 banana
  • berries (fresh or frozen, I defrosted my frozen berries)
  • peanut Butter-love me some crunchy PB in this!
  • honey

In a small saucepan, place the oat bran, water, chia seeds, and salt. Cook on medium heat, stirring occasionally, until water is absorbed and it it is creamy looking (about 5-7 minutes). Add in as much cinnamon and vanilla you like, stir and pour into bowl. Place a spoonful of peanut butter on there, watch it melt and get hungry, add fruit, and drizzle with honey. Enjoy!

IMG_6056

I recommend it with a side of this:

IMG_6061

REALLY good for your heart.

Titus 3: 4-7 “But then God our Savior showed us his kindness and love. He saved us, not because of the good things we did, but because of his mercy. He washed away our sins and gave us a new life through the Holy Spirit. He generously poured out the Spirit upon us because of what Jesus Christ our Savior did. He declared us not guilty because of his great kindness. And now we know that we will inherit eternal life.”

xoxo

Lauren

P.S. You guys are so quiet, but would you pipe in with something? 🙂 Would you like to read more posts like this? A little bit of health knowledge thrown in the mix? Smaller, more frequent posts? I’m all ears.

Responses

  1. I absolutely love your posts lauren! I especially like when you show the pictures of what you ate. Maybe with Nutrition Info (ballpark?) Cals, Fat. Carbs, Fiber? Just a thought.

    Your blog is one of my fav’s out there!
    xoxo

    • Thank you, Julie!! Ok, good to know!

  2. So happy to read your new post! Enjoyed the heart healthy lesson, esp with it being near Valentine’s Day and all. I love your postings, long or short, and always enjoy learning something healthy and reading part of scripture. You tied this together so beautifully when you said the scripture part was “REALLY good for the heart.” Love you!!

    • Thank you, Sharona! You’re so sweet.

  3. love the verse! I need to read that right now, again! so wonderful

    • So glad Angela. 🙂

  4. Molly and I enjoy reading your posts
    Sheila

    • So glad. 🙂 Love you girls


Leave a Reply

Categories