Posted by: Lauren | November 27, 2010

thanksgiving 2010

Thursday morning started out with an intense class at the gym, and coming home and watching some of the parade with Joe. I did a little baking and cooking before heading out to my Uncle Vito and Aunt Kathy’s (who live like 2 minutes away).

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_5069 

Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Carrots

IMG_5071

(Drizzled with extra virgin olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt and pepper. Baked at 375 for 50 minutes.)

I’m so thankful for an amazing family and friends, good health, and not just delicious, nourishing food, but the fact that I have never known true hunger and have never had to worry about how I was going to get food on the table. Oh, you guys, we are so blessed! Let’s never take that for granted! Gratefulness is always something I need to work on-sadly, I find it way too easy to take things for granted or to complain. And like I said the other day, I’m most grateful to know the God who is love, the Giver of all these gifts, the One who gave His Son to die for me.

Thanksgiving was a good day.

IMG_5084

Katie and I love tiiiny things, including tiny beer steins.

It was so fun to have Joe’s younger sister Anna with us as the rest of the fam was out of town and she had school and work. There was some Catch Phrase and Mario 64 thrown in, which was obviously awesome.

IMG_5109 IMG_5076 IMG_5079 IMG_5080 IMG_5082 IMG_5083 IMG_5089 IMG_5090

IMG_5108 IMG_5088

I didn’t get one of U. Gary, A. Michelle, and Sam, and we missed Sara who was taking care of patients all day! 😦

There was so much delicious food! Brussel sprout casserole, cheesy potatoes, green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole, veggies with bacon, stuffing, roasted veggies, balsamic roasted broccoli, turkey, gruyere Champaign cauliflower, and Grandma’s Jell-O molds. IMG_5093 IMG_5094 IMG_5095 IMG_5096 IMG_5097 IMG_5098 IMG_5099 IMG_5100 IMG_5101 IMG_5102 IMG_5092

Grandma always makes her Jell-o molds! 🙂

And the desserts! My mom made those chocolate chip bars which are unreal. There is an Oreo crust and then she added peppermint extract to the condensed milk, and there were pecans, shredded coconut and chocolate chips on top. They were inspired by a recipe my Aunt Sharon sent, but Mom couldn’t find the mint chocolate chips so she substituted with the pep extract and they were perfect. Homemade coconut cake and Katie’s gingerbread pumpkin trifle were amazing as well!

IMG_5069 IMG_5110 IMG_5111 IMG_5112

Random, but has anyone seen those American Airline commercials with the military girl in the airport?! Oh man, I just started crying, I kid you not. Thankful as well to live in this country, with brave people and families who make sacrifices for us, and the gift of living in a country where I am totally free to write and share about my faith. We are blessed.

“So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.” Colossians 2:6-7

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Wow, so much to be thankful for is right! Thank you for the beautiful reminders and capturing the moments we all treasure. You can feel the love reading this post and viewing the pics of all of the beautiful people with whom you spent the day. Okay, on a serious note, you or your mom must cough up the Champagne, Gruyere Cauliflower recipe ASAP! I’d also love to have Kiki’s Pumpkin truffle recipe. I love me some brussel sprouts (so does your Uncle Jim BTW….his fav veggie….for future reference). I noticed two brusseellllllly things! Oh, tell your Mom I’m with her on the SEARCH for this mint/dark chocolate chips for my recipe! What’s up with that? Okay, I looked in three places for them before Thanksgiving and was thinking about another variation…..how about Trader Joe’s Peppermint Joe-Joes instead of the oreo crust. Thing is we must come up with something that looks green or red to make them festive for Christmas….hmmm. They look soooo scrumptious! It’s so funny because I so felt “autumn” when viewing your pictures and the food……look back, everyone’s clothes and everything looks so Fallish!!! Love the Fall……start of a new beginning when leaves come off the trees. So much to share…..sorry to “hog the blog”….tee hee! My friend, John, was asking about you on T-Day! Love you, sweet Lauren!

    • Ok, the cauliflower was…well…a bit of a disappointment. Wah wah wah…. Mom’s doc friend gave her the recipe and said it was so good, but we found it to be kind of bland. It sounds awesome, what with champaign and gruyere, so I don’t know! Ask Mom about, she’ll tell you what she thinks. 😉

      I love the idea of he Peppermint Joe Joe’s! I’m going to make some peppermint hot cocoa tonight-hope it turns out well. Did Grandpa get a Peppermint Mocha the other day?

      I’m so thankful for you and your sweet, thoughtful, loving emails, comments, replies, etc. You are amazing! Say “hey hey!” to John for me! And a big squeeze to Uncle Tricky. 🙂 Love you so much!

  2. Actually Grandpa……Remember your line “Actually, Grandma, we haven’t even had lunch.” Anyway, actually Gpa got a Caramel Machiatto at Uncle Ri-Ri’s suggestion and they shared a LARGE ginger-snap with large sugar crystals. Apparently, a memorable day!!! Too cute from my perspective. I love them both SO MUCH and it’s such a great feeling!

  3. What a Thanksgiving feast!! I love that the photos of people and side dishes are small while the dessert photos are BIG 🙂 We are the same breed, I’m sure of it 🙂

    Glad you had a wonderful holiday, Lauren!

    • Allie! I know, sometimes I just eat dinner only so I can eat dessert. 🙂 Miss you, friend!

  4. Grrrrr……re: Cauliflower……bet you and your Mom can come up with a tastier version…..love cauliflower. Perhaps something with white wine, in lieu of champagne. Or, super sharp cheddar, gruyere, and white wine, cream sauce. Hmmmm……must need more tang. Hard to imagine with Gruyere. Love you tons!

    • I like the way you think, girlfriend.

  5. Yum! I could go for another Thanksgiving dinner right now!

    • Jules! You’re so cute-me too!

  6. I miss my beard….

    • Anth!!! Good to see you here! I’m guessing you took a razor to it… 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories