Posted by: Lauren | November 7, 2010

joe & mom’s birthday

I never did a post about Joe and Mom’s birthday party at my parents’ house in September. I can’t even tell you how much I love these two and love celebrating their lives both within a few days of each other (Mom’s 25th, Joe’s 29th).

IMG_4617

IMG_4561

IMG_4564

IMG_4567

IMG_4565

IMG_4573

IMG_4566

IMG_4570

My parents planted every tree in their yard, and there are literally hundreds…it’s absolutely beautiful. 

IMG_4575

IMG_4578

IMG_4583

IMG_4587

Some apps, including mini corndogs for the birthday boy. 🙂

IMG_4590 IMG_4568 IMG_4569 IMG_4585

IMG_4586

Madelyn worked up an appetite.

IMG_4591 IMG_4594

IMG_4588   Made a big salad with mixed greens, roasted beets, apples, veg, craisins, and Angela’s Better-than-Bottled-Balsamic.

IMG_4601 IMG_4595 IMG_4596 IMG_4598 IMG_4599 IMG_4600 Dinner was baked pasta, meatballs, Gma & Gpa’s Italian sausage and stuffed artichokes, and Katie made a taffy apple salad and fruit skewers.

Baked Pasta (this gets RAVE reviews!) recipe from Denise, the awesome mom I nanny for. 🙂

  • 1 lb campanelle pasta (great texture and shape for this-I use Barilla brand)
  • 2 jars pasta sauce
  • 15 oz ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup parm or romano cheese
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 egg

Cook pasta until just at al dente then drain and rinse with cold water. While pasta is cooking, combine ricotta, parmesan, salt, pepper, and egg. In a 13×9 glass dish, layer sauce, pasta, then top with spoonfuls of cheese mixture around the pasta (I’ll do maybe 6 spoonfuls per layer). Top with more sauce, pasta, cheese, etc. The final layer on top should be the remainder of sauce. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for about 35-40 minutes (unless refrigerated, then it will need longer baking time).

I’ve also made this pasta by adding cooked organic ground beef seasoned with a bit of salt and pepper.

IMG_3090

These cutie pies liked it. 🙂

IMG_4604

IMG_4607

Someone forgot to bring birthday candles for the birthday cake. Oops. So, yes, I did stick a pumpkin candle in the middle of the bundt cake. It works!

IMG_4628

I made this Super Moist Pumpkin Buttermilk Bundt Cake. Recipe can be found here. You really should make it. Thanksgiving, yes? My mother-in-law also made these amazing brownies that are part brownie, part oatmeal walnut cookie. They are so good! I think I had a picture of them in my last post..

IMG_4629

Joe and Mom, you are two of the greatest gifts from God. I love you both so much!

“Praise the Lord, I tell myself, and never forget the good things he does for me.” Psalm 103:2

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. What a wonderful time! Birthdays are so special. Fun eats all around. Makes me miss my family. Your parents property looks amazing!

  2. Wow, awesome pics! What a wonderful celebration of your Mom and Joe! The nature pics are extraordinary (kudos, Laur) and that 4 piece, blue vase connected thingy is so cool. Is that your Mom’s? Me LIKEY!!! That Pumpkin cake looks so good…great idea re: the candle. Everyone looks wonderful and happy! Sights for sore eyes. Love you tons!

    • Hi Sharon! Yes, the blue vase is Mom’s from Joe’s parents when we went to these gardens in British Columbia. 🙂 So pretty, huh? Try making the cake! It was an easy one and really good! Love and miss you so much!

      • Wow, British Columbia…….very cool and how sweet that Joe’s parents gave that to your parents! Will make that Pumpkin cake (w/ Buttermilk for Gma and Gpa at Thanksgiving). May use the Sunflower pan. So pretty…..love you tons!

  3. Lauren,
    Thanks so much for the cake recipe – i tried it today and it was a huge hit! So delicious and moist!
    Nichole

    • Yay Nichole!! That’s awesome! I love when I find a “keeper” recipe! Thanks for letting me know! 🙂

  4. How gorgeous are these pics!!

    I love seeing happy families celebrating happy times 🙂 reminds me so much of my family!

    xxoo

    • Thanks Kris! Seriously, families are a HUGE blessing that is for sure!

  5. What fun! I love your pictures of family, food and fun. Your bake pasta sounds deliscious and it’s meatless, yes! Not that I’m vegetarian or anything but sometimes, it’s just plain good:)

  6. Our family eats so much pasta, we’re always looking for new recipes so we don’t get bored of the old ones. This looks great! And cute pictures!


Leave a Reply

Categories