Posted by: Lauren | October 17, 2010

farm aid 2010

A few weekends ago, Joe and I woke up on a Saturday morning at the awful time of 6:00 am, but it was well worth it.

We headed north to Milwaukee to go to Farm Aid with our friends, Sara and Zac. Remember, the ones who we share an anniversary with? 🙂 Farm Aid is an organization and benefit concert that Willie Nelson, along with John Mellencamp and Neil Young, started 25 years ago to help family farms. Dave Matthews is also on the board now, and they help put on an awesome show for an even more awesome cause. Some of our favorite performers from the night were: Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds (obviously), Kenny Chesney (never listened to him before but was really impressed with how talented he is), Amos Lee (awesome), The BoDeans (sound like how they do on their cds), and Jason Mraz was good (but I had higher hopes). We didn’t hear Neil Young, though! We were old grandpas and grandmas and left for Thai food. 🙂 We had been there for almost 9.5 hours and up since 6, so it was an easy decision to take off.

On the beautiful drive up, I ate this, which I know, looks DISGUSTING, but tastes SO GOOD.

IMG_4669

Pumpkin Overnight Oats

  • 1/3 cup old fashioned oats
  • 2/3 cup plain yogurt (I also like to use plain kefir and Greek yogurt)
  • a bit of stevia to sweeten
  • GIANT SCOOP of pumpkin
  • few shakes of cinnamon
  • chia seeds
  • pinch salt

Stir together and refrigerate overnight or for a bit in the morning. Top with almond butter. MmmmMmmm. It’s like creamy pumpkin whipped custard…or something like that.

This little concoction is just one example of why I love reading blogs so much-finding delicious, easy, healthy recipes and inspiration.

Why do I use plain yogurt and kefir? I like to sweeten to taste with natural stevia, which is just an herb that is very sweet and doesn’t have any calories (you use a fraction of the amount to sugar). What may seem like a healthy choice by picking yogurt, may actually have 23 grams of sugar per serving or made with high fructose corn syrup. No matter what kind of form of sugar it is, I think it’s too much, unnecessary, and tastes just too sweet. Did you know sugar can lower your immune system, cause inflammation, and help feed unhealthy bacteria in your gut? I totally believe in everything in moderation; sugar is just one of those areas I struggle with–it’s so addictive! So, when I can cut back easily and not notice a difference, I do. Disclaimer: Just sharing my thoughts, I’m not a licensed health professional. (Durh.) If you’re interested, google “harmful effects of sugar” and you’ll find a lot…

Back to Farm Aid!

First, Joe and I stopped at Sara and Zac’s house to ride to Miller Park with them, and later we spent the night there. I loooove their place! Sara is an art teacher, master crafter/DIYer, Young House Lover, and basically rules. I snapped away…

IMG_4677

IMG_4676

IMG_4675

When we got to Miller Park, there were some booths set up outside so we wandered around there for a bit. Also, there were some food vendors inside…

IMG_4694 IMG_4693

IMG_4695

IMG_4700

IMG_4696 

IMG_4698

Zac and Sara (singing Ben Folds song in my head when typing that)

IMG_4701

Me and Joe with free fruit! Apple and pear and frozen hands.

IMG_4702

That is what it looked like when we first got there from our seats. Pretty quiet still.

IMG_4706We finally found a lineup!

IMG_4707 Sugar? What sugar?! Forget everything I said before, that funnel cake was delicious. 😉 Joe got an organic corn dog-he balances it all out…sorta. 😉 Many of the concessions at the park that day were organic and local-which was very cool. They also had recycling and compost cans all over.

IMG_4708

 IMG_4730

IMG_4733

IMG_4740

IMG_4744

Fun fun weekend with amazing friends!

This verse has spoken to me a lot, thought I’d share…

“Turn my eyes away from worthless things; preserve my life according to your word.” Psalm 119:37

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Sara’s house is so cute!!Not surprised!! That concert seems like a blast. I want to try the pumpkin oats, its nice to have breakfast all ready when you have a busy am!! do you put all the rest of the pumpkin in a container in the fridge. thats why i do, hopefully that works!
    love ya!

    • Katie, I do! Pumpkin must NEVER go to waste.

  2. Thank you for your pictures and stories. I was there, too, and had such a great time.

    • So cool, Linda! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. love it! :o)

  4. Glad you’re back Little Laurie!!! Love me some Dave Matthews……..you get an E for Effort for trying to hold on for my fav, Neil Young and his Harvest Moon (good song for a festival like that, huh?). Do you know the song? Check it out! Can’t blame you for opting for Thai Food, my fav! HA! Looks like you’ve been enjoying Fall with family and friends. Love Renee’s dinner and all you girls look like you have so much fun together. Miss you!! Love, Sharon

    • haha Sharon E for effort. Yes that is my favorite of Neil’s! I really wanted to hear him, but I was struggling to stay awake at that point to be honest! It was a long day of getting up early, lots of driving, and all day in the chilly air. 🙂 Next time, we’ll see him together! Love you so much!


Leave a Reply

Categories