Posted by: Lauren | September 9, 2010

homemade tomato sauce & zucchini chips

Joe and I have been given SO many garden tomatoes (thank you, wonderful families!) and I was excited to put some of them to use making a homemade tomato sauce for the first time (with fresh tomatoes). I consulted a few web sites (this one in particular), then got to it.

Homemade Tomato Sauce

  • 7 medium to large tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup minced onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp dried thyme or 1 Tbsp fresh
  • 1 Tbsp fresh rosemary
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp sugar

1. Fill a large pot with water to boil. Rinse and score about 7 medium to large tomatoes. I took a paring knife to “score” the bottom of the tomato skin with an x.

IMG_4317

2. Once the water comes to a boil, drop in the tomatoes with a slotted spoon so you don’t splash boiling water on your hand (I could only fit in about 4 at one time), for 30 seconds. Then remove with a slotted spoon to a bowl filled with ice and water (ice bath).

IMG_4318

3. Remove from ice bath and peel off the skin (which is so easy!).

IMG_4319

4. Core the tomatoes by cutting out the stem and roughly chop the tomatoes. I did seed some of my tomatoes but not all. I recommend getting out as many seeds as possible by gently squeezing the tomatoes. Set aside in a bowl.

IMG_4321

5. Now you can take that same pot you used to boil the tomatoes, dump out the water, and heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in it. You will also need an onion.IMG_4322

6. Mince about a 1/4 of a large onion. Some people don’t like onions, so go for a good flavor and not big chunkage (which I’ve done before), and finely mince. I love me some onions, but if you’re cooking for others, just be aware.

IMG_4323

7. Add onion to olive oil and sauté until translucent, about 3 minutes. Then add 2 minced cloves of garlic.

IMG_4325

8. Add your tomatoes. Stir.

IMG_4327

9. And your next few ingredients. I didn’t have fresh garlic, (which was already added above), but please, use it if you have it. 2 bay leaves, 1 Tbsp fresh rosemary, 1 tsp dried thyme.

IMG_4324

10. Cook on medium heat while the tomato sauce bubbles away for at least 1.5 hours (I did longer by knocking it down to low after 1.5 hrs). It will majorly reduce! This is it after about 1 hour.

IMG_4329

11. I then added sea salt and pepper to taste, and 1 tsp of sugar and let it cook for a bit longer.

Please, please serve this with the following:

Zucchini Chips

IMG_4347

These are AMAZING. They are baked and not fried, yet they are crunchy on the outside and perfectly soft on the inside and full of flavor. Denise, the mom I nanny for, made zucchini chips a few months ago and I’ve been wanting to make them ever since. This is my adapted recipe I found from here.

Baked Zucchini Chips

  • 1 medium to large zucchini, cut into 1/4 in. thick pieces
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup parmesan or Romano cheese
  • Dash of sea salt
  • Dash of garlic powder
  • Dash of oregeno
  • Dash of onion powder
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 1 or 2 eggs (I started with 1, then needed some of a 2nd)

1. Preheat oven to 475 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Slice zucchini into 1/4 inch thick pieces. I didn’t use this whole large zucchini, but I probably cut about 25 pieces (I left about 1/4 of it unsliced).

IMG_4330

2. Add your bread crumbs and Parmesan or Romano cheese to a dish.

IMG_4331

IMG_4332

3. Add your spices to the bread crumbs and cheese.

IMG_4334 IMG_4335 IMG_4336 IMG_4337 IMG_43334. Crack an egg in another dish and scramble it up.

IMG_4338

5. Coat zucchini slices in egg then in bread crumb mixture and place on baking sheet.

IMG_4339

IMG_4340

6. Bake for five minutes, then flip, and bake for 10 minutes.

Serve these zucchini chips with the homemade tomato sauce as an appetizer, side dish, or as Joe and I did: for dinner, eating mass quantities of it.

IMG_4350

ENJOY, loves!

“God sent him[Jesus] to buy freedom for us who were slaves to the law, so that he could adopt us as his very own children…Now you are no longer a slave but God’s own child. And since you are his child, everything he has belongs to you.” Galatians 4:5,7

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. You taught me something else new today…..always wondered how to make homemade tomato sauce and never thought about the fact that seeds are often left out of pasta sauce! My mouth is watering right now. Your pictures and descriptions are just perfect! I’m going to try your zuccini recipe and may modify it just a tad since I have those panko crumbs. What a great idea to top the zucchini with the pasta sauce! From one onion lover to another……lovers me tons and tons of on-ee-yons!!! Love you tons!

    • Aunt Sharon, yes definitely use the panko crumbs! That’s what Denise used too. It was be crispy and delicious! Love you so much!

  2. I just made this with my grandma two weeks ago. Its crazy how similar the italian recipes are!
    Looks delicious!!

    • Angela, that’s awesome! Grandmas rule.

  3. Hey Lauren, so you’ve probably gotten a couple dozen already but I gave you a Cherry on Top award cuz you totally rock.
    http://seriouslysassy.wordpress.com/2010/09/09/cherry-on-top-award/

    • Awww thanks Wendy!

  4. Yum! I love everything about this post – homemade pasta sauce, and zucchini chips? That is sounding like one heck of a dinner!

  5. I have tried baking zucchini disks but never added a bread crumb coating. I need to try it using panko bread crumbs. It looks delicious 🙂

    • Try it, Jessica, you won’t be disappointed! 🙂

  6. I’m eating homemade potato chips with mayo + sour cream+ salsa. Your zucchini and homemade tomato sauce sounds 10 times better!

    • Homemade potato chips?! I’d be all over that!

  7. That sauce recipe sounds and looks great! That is a wonderful idea to score the tomato before cooking 🙂 I may just need to do the same! Picture perfect dish!

  8. […] healthier, but it is just as tasty as the original! I baked the eggplant in a similar way to these Zucchini Chips with the help of a recipe from Eating […]


Leave a Reply

Categories