Posted by: Lauren | August 24, 2010

breaking bread

A few times in the past couple weeks, I have shared wonderful meals with friends and family where everyone comes together and contributes something delicious to the meal. I love spending time with people this way.

A few weeks ago, BFFs Renee and Amelia and I had an amazing dinner at our friend, Cindy’s house.

IMG_3434

I’m thinking this should become a regular event as I love these girls and they just crack me up. 

IMG_3435

Renee brought amazing doughy and delicious bread, as well as wine. (Standard.) I brought marinated cucumbers and made cocktails of rum and limeade (Simply Limeade brand) over ice with fresh lime juice squeezed on top. Lightweights, go easy on the rum, it’s smooth goin’ down. Not like I would know or anything…

IMG_3436

That would be incredible Thai Chicken and Pasta that Cindy made. I begged her for the recipe, which she emailed me the next day, which is slightly adapted from friend Geri/Food Network.

Thai Chicken and Pasta

  • 1 jar picante sauce
  • 1/2 cup chunky style peanut butter
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 2 Tbsp orange juice
  • 1/2 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 8 oz cooked fettuccine
  • 4 boneless chicken breasts cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 2 Tbsp oil
  •  

    1.Mix the first 6 ingredients in a bowl.  Cook the chicken in the oil until browned and cooked through. Pour sauce over and cook 5-10 minutes more.

    2.Serve on top of pasta and sprinkle with cilantro, peanuts and thin red bell pepper strips.

    Meals brought this amazing dessert:

    IMG_3437

Sorry I didn’t get a better picture of it! It was so perfect: fresh fruit topped with homemade whipped cream and super dark chocolate shavings. Ahh…

Last week Joe’s family came over to show us gorgeous photo slideshows from their vacation to Washington state, and once again, we all contributed parts of the meal, which made it delicious and really easy after just coming home from work. Thanks, sweet family!

IMG_3827

Larryboy cooked up perfectly tender and flavorful grilled chicken and a GIANT pile of garden vegetables! They were so good: squash, zucchini, jalapenos and carrots.

I boiled up some angel hair while Lora and I worked on the pesto. I couldn’t find pinenuts the day before, but I knew walnuts could work. I found an easy recipe from Simply Recipes that turned out so well! We all loved it.

Basil and Walnut Pesto

  • 2 cups fresh basil leaves, packed
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan-Reggiano or Romano cheese
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 cup pine nuts or walnuts (I used walnuts)
  • 3 medium sized garlic cloves, minced (I used a big spoonful of jarred minced garlic)
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Pulse the walnuts in the food processor first, then add the basil and pulse again. Stream in the EVOO, then add the Romano cheese, garlic, and salt and pepper. Pulse until smooth and combined.

IMG_3828

Lora also made a sweet peach and blueberry salad (I ate about 3x that!) and sliced up some garden tomatoes with mozzarella, balsamic, and S&P.

Yay, team Breeden! Even though I was tired and not in the best mood, they all blessed me with their sweetness, good company, good food, and washing of the dishes by my momma Breeden! Love you guys.

I leave you with this adorable peanut:

IMG_3817

Baby M is about to reveal what delicious creation she has under those lids. 😉 How much longer ‘til she can cook with Auntie Lauren?

“They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to the fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer.” Acts 2:42

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. mmm that pesto looks amazing! I ❤ pesto!!

  2. I love the idea of a girls’ night where everyone brings part of the dinner. Mmmmm…..I’m sooooo going to make that Thai Chicken and Pasta. Interesting that it has the Mexican kick with the Picante. Who knew?! Yumsicles!!! The dinner with the Breedens sounds fabulous too with all of those fresh veggies, fruits, and pesto!! I’ll be right over for leftovers……ha! Love and miss you!

    • Sharon, you would have looooved that thai chick and pasta. Definitely, definitely make it!


Leave a Reply

Categories