Posted by: Lauren | August 23, 2010

heritage prairie farm

There is still so much from this summer that I want to share on here, so I’m just going to do a few more posts that are closer to “real time,” and then I’ll go back and recap some wonderful highlights from the summer. I’ve got some Coldplay on Pandora running, so I think I can do this!

When we woke up Saturday morning I remembered what I put in the fridge the night before, so I’m pretty sure I jumped out of bed.

I made Angela’s Cherry Chocolate Vegan Overnight Oats and they did not disappoint, in fact, none of her recipes have. I’ve made her Better-Than-Bottled Balsamic vinaigrette, and Garlicky Baked Butternut Squash multiple times. She has such creative, simple, delicious, and healthy recipes. Click on her link to see the original recipe—I adapted it just slightly.

IMG_3843

Chocolate Vegan Overnight Oats

The night before I whisked together:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup original almond milk
  • 1 Tablespoon chia seeds
  • pinch sea salt
  • splash vanilla extract
  • ~1/2 tsp cocoa powder

I refrigerated the mixture overnight and then the next morning I added a few drops of liquid stevia for a little sweetness, and then in the food processor I made the best part: the cherry banana soft serve.

IMG_3839

IMG_3837 IMG_3836

The night before I pitted some cherries and popped them in the freezer. Then in the morning I combined one frozen banana with 1/3 cup frozen cherries. Let it blend in the food processor, occasionally scraping down the sides, until it turns into luscious, creamy soft serve.

Try and layer the overnight oats and soft serve all beautifullly like Angela, but mine was nothing compared to how amazing hers looks-don’t know how she does it!

IMG_3840

IMG_3848Enjoy with a side of flowers. 

IMG_3851

That would be Joe deciding between a bowl of cinnamon toast crunch and the rest of my vegan overnight oats. Guess which won? He actually liked the parfait, but I ate all the soft serve so I don’t think it was as appealing-hah!

After breakfast we headed out to Heritage Prairie Farm!

IMG_3854

IMG_3861

IMG_3863 IMG_3862

IMG_3864

IMG_3867

IMG_3876 IMG_3877   

Hi sweet donkey!

IMG_3868 

You’re so cute, come here!

IMG_3869

Awww, little donkey, I love you!

IMG_3872

IMG_3873 I tried to take him home, but he didn’t fit in our car, so we said our goodbyes and promised I’d be back.

IMG_3881

IMG_3882

IMG_3884

Honey!

IMG_3885

IMG_3887

IMG_3886

IMG_3898 IMG_3889IMG_3890      IMG_3891 IMG_3893 IMG_3894

IMG_3895

Our purchases: organic hard cider, organic chocolate WHOLE milk, raw honey.

IMG_3905

Joe didn’t wait long…

IMG_3907 

IMG_3906

Locals, have you been here? Who wants to go to Wednesday Night Artisanal Pizza and Kickball with us?!

IMG_3897

“And the very hairs on your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid” Luke 12:7

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. That parfait looks delicious!!! You did a good job! My husband would choose cinnamon toast crunch (or reese’s puffs) over my food any day. 🙂 I’m taking baby steps with him though… THe other day he willingly grabbed an apple from the fridge. I think I head the hallelujah chorus singing!

    • Chelsey, yay for the apple! haha too cute. Boys are funny that way. It’s one thing when they eat what you make for them, but it’s another when they CHOOSE something healthy on their own!

  2. That parfait looks amazing! Can’t wait to try it.

    Heritage Prairie Farms looks so sweet. I’ve had Woodchuck Hard Cider before and loved it, so I’m sure that hard cider was tasty!

    • Sophie, I agree-Woodchuck is tasty! I’ve had the green apple kind that I didn’t like, however. We haven’t tried this kind yet, but I’m hoping it’s just as good or better!

  3. Wish I could go to Wed Artisanal Pizza and Kickball night! That parfait looks so yummy!!!! Love cherries so will have to try that. What is hard cider compared to apple cider anyway? Love the pics of you with the donkey. Too cute! Oh, I would have been drinking that choc milk right along w/ Joe….mmmmm! Love you!

    • Sharonskis, hard cider is the adult version of apple cider! 🙂 It is fermented so it is bubbly and has alcohol in it. Oh my gosh, I could so see you and Uncle Richard there at kickball and pizza night. How fun would that be?! yes, the milk was delicious-so creamy! Love you!

      • Ooooohhh, hard cider, now I get it! DUH!!! Mmmmm, bet it’s tasty! Seeeeriously (Chicago style), it would be a blaaaast to go to kickball and pizza night. Mmmm…love Allie’s idea about the laaaaaattte too. Too funny! Going to downtown Charlotte tonight with three girlfriends (one turned 40). We’re going to the Epicenter (large, new development with restaurants, bars, bowling alley, movie theater, large open area outside where magicians and other street artists demonstrate). I’m gonna miss my little yumsicle though. We’re staying overnight in a hotel. Wish you could join us! Love and miss you!

      • How fun is that?!?! I want to go! Send me some pictures! Did you guys have a blast? Sorry for the late reply! Love you so much!

  4. Ahhhh take me back to Chicago!!! I’m so bummed the farm was closed when we went. I can’t believe you kissed the donkey…I would have been too scared. Joe is so photogenic and I’ve had whole choco milk from a farm–fantastic!! Try putting it in coffee too–like a laaaaatte (Chicago style).

    • Oh my gosh Allie, you crack me up. I read your comment out loud to Joe and we were both laughing and now we’re both saying, “laaaate.” The crazy thing is, I was totally thinking of doing that! Great minds think alike! Oh I didn’t kiss the little fella-I’m way to scurrred for that too!

  5. i will go to pizza/kick ball night. sign me up!!!! chocolate milk better than oberweis? i can’t wait until kuipers opens up. i see a blog post in the future.

    • can’t remember Oberweis choc milk, but it was delish nonetheless. iiii know about kuipers!!! thinking the same thing! group apple picking again?!

  6. Awesome, awesome pictures!!
    I really wanna go to Heritage Prairie Farm sometime!

  7. Wonderful post!! Of course, I love the orange kitty ❤ What a fun place. Your overnight oats look amazing!! Cinnamon toast crunch does hold a special place in my heart though 😮

    • I know, sometimes cinnamon toast crunch is totally appealing-at night for dessert in a mug-yum! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories