Posted by: Lauren | August 8, 2010

i’m baaaack!

Hi guys!!! How’s your summer? Mine has been jam packed but filled with so many good memories. I have so much to catch up on, but I won’t do it all today-many more to come-so get excited! 😉

Aaaaall the way back to June with some easy, delicious recipes:

IMG_2697

Turkey, Sun-dried Tomato, Basil Panini with marinated cucumbers.

You could easily make these pressed sandwiches on the stovetop by putting a heavy pot or cast iron pan on top of the sandwiches while they cook in a heated pan. Joe and I loved this simple, pretty much no-cook dinner. These paninis had turkey, sundried tomatoes, fresh basil, and I think havarti or muenster cheese. On the side are cucumbers that I cover in seasoned rice wine vinegar (from Trader Joe’s) and marinate in the fridge all day or overnight. My grandma, mom, and aunts also make marinated cucumbers with equal parts water and white wine vinegar, with a little sugar, and sliced onions. Soooo good!

Want dessert?

IMG_2693

Banana “Soft Serve” For those that don’t know/don’t read healthy living blogs, I did not invent this, but many have tried this and love it too. I borrowed my mother-in-law’s food processor to make this and it got me all giddy. All you do is take a frozen banana (I peel, then freeze), and let it go in the food processor and after about 5 minutes it turns into creamy, delicious soft serve! We topped it with Trader Joe’s chocolate syrup because it’s made without high fructose corn syrup. I bet this would also be so good blended with peanut butter…obviously.

Another no-cook dinner:

IMG_2708

Bagel and Lox

  • Everything Bagel
  • Smoked Salmon
  • 1/3 less fat cream cheese
  • Sprouts (I bought pea sprouts-pretty good)
  • Sliced tomato

Toast bagel, assemble and enjoy! So easy!

IMG_2700

Easy Steak Fajitas

  • 1/2 large onion, sliced
  • 1 cup sliced peppers
  • 1 lb steak (I used deer from my bro-in-law! Crazy but good!)
  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 2 tsp. soy sauce
  • sprinkle salt
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped cilantro

Sauté the onions and peppers in the olive oil for several minutes on medium-high heat. Add steak and cook until no longer pink. Add chili powder through salt and top with chopped cilantro.

I served this on top of brown rice, but you could obviously serve on top of warm tortillas with sour cream/Greek yogurt, salsa, guacamole, etc.

IMG_2921

Shrimp Tacos (might not look amazing, but they tasted that way!)

  • 1 lb shrimp (I used thawed, cooked shrimp)
  • 1/2 large onion, sliced
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp. minced garlic

Sauté onions in olive oil until tender. Add diced tomatoes through garlic and cook for a several minutes. Add cooked shrimp just to warm-about one minute. I served this on a whole wheat tortilla with lettuce Greek yogurt and cilantro-really yummy!!

IMG_2925

I love mixing fruit, veggies, and feta cheese in any kind of salad. My mom has been doing it for years-grapes, apples, berries, you name it. It’s so refreshing with all different textures and levels of flavor. Top it with balsamic, olive oil, and sprinkle of salt and pepper. Light, delicious, and so good for you!

I’ll leave you with a picture from a bike ride I was taking in June-so beautiful!

IMG_3970

Next time I’ll have pictures of people too! 🙂

“Whatever you eat or drink or whatever you do, you must do all for the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians 10:31

Any good no-cook recipes to share? Add a link or the whole recipe in the comments if you do! Not all of the above were no-cook, but they’re so nice-especially since we still have some hot weeks ahead of us.

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Glad you’re back to blogging. I’ve missed you! It was SO WONDERFUL to see you in person….savored every moment. Mmm….banana softserve sounds so refreshing on this nearly 100 degree day. That sammy with sun-dried maters made my mouth water. Made me think of our special trip to Costco too!! Miss you and love you tons!

    • Aunt Sharona, I’m so happy to see your comments once again too. I will soon have pics up from the trip. It was seriously such an amazing trip. I’m so grateful we got to spend that time with you and U. Ri Ri. Love you so much! Oh and it felt like 110 here-so disgustingly hot and humid!

  2. I can’t look at this blog when I am hurgry! Where were the horses?

    • Can’t say. Someone might want to kidnap me on my next ride. 😉 taha


Leave a Reply

Categories