Posted by: Lauren | June 16, 2010

a healthy & filling lunch

**Thank you all so so so much for all your sweet words to me about the tri-it really meant so much!

I thought it would be fun and possibly informative to show how I try and put together healthy lunches for my hubby that are still hearty enough to fill him up. He has a physically demanding job, and needs calories quick and easily and on the go. He can’t reheat leftovers, or really food that require two hands or utensils. Yeah, so that’s what I’m working with.

However, if you have to pack a lunch for yourself, your kids, or your spouse, I think you can still take away some tips from here.

Now, of course sometimes I don’t feel like making his lunch, suggest he “treat himself” to a lunch out, or I just feel like putting together some PB&J, chips, and an apple together as fast as possible, (all of which happen), but my husband sacrifices and serves me all.the.time, so this is just one little way I can help him out.

P.S. Sorry for the poor photo quality, these were taken at night…

IMG_2714

Here we have:

1. an everything bagel sandwich with turkey, cream cheese, organic tomatoes, organic pea sprouts, garden lettuce, and maybe a slice of cheese…can’t remember. Of course, the Trader Joe’s bagel isn’t exactly made out of all perfect ingredients, but it has more calories than bread and it just seemed like a nice break from the ordinary with all the whole wheat bread I usually give him.

IMG_2717

2. organic carrots (from Costco, great deal), and sugar snap peas-which we love!

IMG_2716

3. organic raspberries (how long am I going to talk about that great deal?) and watermelon

4. Trail mix: walnuts, craisins, semi sweet chocolate chips

IMG_2715

5. Two homemade granola bars. Recipe below…

I think this lunch probably had about 1500 calories, which he needs, but here are some general tips no matter what size lunch you need.

Healthy Lunch Tips:

1. Try to have a balance of complex carbohydrates, protein, and healthy fat from REAL food. I’m sure you’ve all heard this before, but a good balance will keep you fuller longer, your blood sugar stable, and feeling satisfied at the end of a meal. (Again, not to be hypocritical, we definitely eat our fair share of packaged foods, but I always feel better when we eat fresh, real food!)

2.Sneak in those veggies any way you can, and enjoy fruit that is in season, sweet, and satisfying. If you don’t like plain veggies, try dipping in hummus, in a Laughing Cow cheese wedge, or something like cucumbers marinated in rice wine vinegar or sprinkled with salt and pepper. And if you don’t like fruit, then, who are you?!

3. Use reusable containers. It will save you money from purchasing baggies and foil wrap all the time, and save the landfills from being filled up with more junk that won’t decompose for another 1000 years. If you have leftovers you will be heating up, then heat them in a glass container–I enjoy the different Pyrex sizes for that purpose. Research has shown that the chemicals in plastic can leach into food when heated.

4. Similar to above, use a reusable bottle for water. Same reasons: save money, help out our environment.

5. If you can, pack leftovers. That is what I do all of the time for me because I can reheat my food. As soon as we’re done with dinner I’ll take out one of those glass containers and fill it with some food for the next day.

IMG_2718

Packed up and ready to go.

IMG_2720

So those granola bars. Oh man, they are so good! I will not be buying packaged granola bars because these are so easy, use simple ingredients, taste better, and have no weird stuff that I can’t pronounce in them. I tweaked this recipe from here, so please stop by Laura’s blog to see the awesome inspiration.

Homemade Chewy Granola Bars

  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1-2 Tablespoons organic coconut oil
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 cup total of any combination-I used craisins, chocolate chips, chia seeds, and unsweetened shredded coconut. Use whatever dried fruit, seeds, etc. that you’d like!

In a medium saucepan, melt the honey, peanut butter, and coconut oil together. Remove from heat and stir in oats and your one cup mixture of dried fruit, etc.

Spread into in ungreased 8×8 glass pan and refrigerate for 2 hours. Then cut into bars, wrap in plastic wrap, and keep in the fridge. So convenient!

IMG_2723

^Note: this was two batches that I made in a 13×9. Below is the first time I made them.

IMG_2711

IMG_2712

Enjoy!

Any other helpful tips I have forgotten? Please share!

“People need more than bread for their life; they must feed on every word of God.” Matthew 4:4

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Great ideas.We love the blog

    • Thanks Aunt Sheila! Love you guys!

  2. Love the granola bars!!! That lunch looks delicious!! Your such a good wifey 🙂

  3. Mmmm……mmmmmm….good!!! Yummy stuff! Love and miss you!


Leave a Reply

Categories