Posted by: Lauren | June 9, 2010

so.much.food

Hi guys! Sorry for my long breaks in between posts! I realized though, that I am so behind on food recipes…all the way back through April! So here we go, hope you’re not too hungry, because here comes a lot of food pictures…

Some of the recipes I found in magazines or online, so I’ll just link unless I really adapted it. One more thing, you know me, sometimes they’re not really recipes and just things I’m putting together a.k.a. not measuring and there is no actual recipe, just a general idea. Like this one…

Tortilla Crust Pizza

IMG_2182

One of the easiest and fastest meals you can make. I started with a whole grain tortilla, Trader Joe’s pizza sauce (you could just use pasta sauce and some tomato paste), goat cheese, spinach, sun dried tomatoes, and mushrooms. Baked in the toaster oven. SO easy.

Split Pea and Ham Soup

IMG_2087

This goes back to Easter! Told you I’m behind! I was given the ham bone on Easter to make soup from Momma G, who would be my brother’s mother-in-law (we’re a close-knit family). My store didn’t have green split peas, so I bought the yellow ones, and I noticed no difference in taste compared to my mom’s green version. Here’s the problem, though: I don’t remember how I made it. For real. I can’t find any notes I might have scribbled, any recipes that may have inspired me, and my mom’s recipe comes from a book with her own adaptations and I just know I didn’t use that. So what gives?! Here is what I think I did…

  • Covered the ham bone with water and simmered away in a stock pot.
  • Sautéed onion and carrots in Tbsp. olive oil in a skillet (probably a cup of both, chopped). I probably added some chopped garlic too. Let’s say 2 cloves….
  • Removed the ham bone, but kept some of the meat from it to use in the soup, and added a cup of yellow split peas to the broth.
  • I probably let the broth and peas come to a boil for 10 minutes, then added the onions, carrots, garlic, salt, pepper, 1/2 tsp.? thyme, and 2 bay leaves.
  • Simmered away on the stove for several hours, until I had a creamy, delicious soup.

Guys, that was kind of ridiculous. I’ve been trying to be much better about taking notes of things I’m making, using measurements..errr kinda, and just being a better sharer of recipes! Some of you are probably thinking, “I really had no desire to make that nasty looking soup anyways,” so, that’s cool too.

“Lighter” Falafel

IMG_2092

This one bombed. I won’t share the recipe I found. Moving along…

 Chipotle Black Bean Burritos

IMG_2106

Recipe adapted from here.

Serves 4-5

  • 1  tablespoon  olive oil
  • 1  garlic clove, minced
  • 2 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce(save the rest in a small container in your freezer)
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/3  cup  water
  • 1  (15-ounce) can organic black beans, drained
  • 1  (15-ounce) can organic kidney beans, drained
  • whole wheat tortillas
  • 3 Tbsp salsa
  • shredded cheese
  • Plain Greek yogurt (or sour cream)
  • Fresh cilantro

1. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add garlic to pan; cook 1 minute, stirring frequently. Stir in chipotle chiles and salt; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Stir in 1/3 cup water and beans; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes. Remove from heat; stir in salsa. Partially mash bean mixture with a fork.

2. Warm tortillas. Spoon about 1/3 cup bean mixture into center of each tortilla. Top each serving with more salsa, cheese, Greek yogurt, and cilantro. Roll up and enjoy!

Mint Irish Cream Brownies

IMG_2188

Recipe adapted from Cooking Light.

  • 1  cup  white wheat flour
  • 1/2  cup  unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/4  teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/3  cup  semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4  cup  butter
  • 1  cup  sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4  cup  Baileys Mint Irish Cream
  • 1  teaspoon  vanilla extract
  • Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350°.

Spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Whisk together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.

Microwave chocolate chips and butter in a large bowl at HIGH 1 1/2 minutes or until the chocolate chips and butter melt, stirring every 30 seconds. Cool slightly. Add sugar and next 3 ingredients (through vanilla extract), stirring well with a whisk. Microwave at HIGH 1 minute or until sugar dissolves, stirring every 30 seconds.

Fold in the flour mixture, stirring just until moist. Spread batter into a 9-inch square baking pan coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for 20 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out almost clean. Cool on a wire rack.

Veggie Wrap

IMG_2246

Quick and easy lunch idea for you: whole wheat wrap or tortilla, hummus or mustard or whatever condiment you want, cheese, and lots of vegetables and pickles!

“Even Healthier” Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_2471

I’ve posted my variation on Quaker’s recipe before here on the blog, but these are even healthier and yummier. I didn’t add any dried fruit to this batch, but feel free to add craisins or raisins.

  • 1/2 cup plus 6 Tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup agave nectar
  • 3/4 cup sucanat (or brown sugar)*sucanat is a less refined sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1.5 cups white wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups oats
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In large bowl, beat coconut oil, agave nectar, and sucanat on medium speed until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well. Add oats and chocolate chips; mix well.

Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake 8-10 minutes or until light golden brown.

Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store lightly covered. Makes 4 dozen.

Greek Salad with Sardines (oh yes I did!)

IMG_2475

Recipe from Eating Well-found here. More about that magazine below. I just feel healthy eating this. Verdict: sardines-not bad, not bad at all!

Buttermilk Bread

IMG_2478

This recipe came out of the book Artisan Break in 5 Minutes A Day, which I really recommend. The only thing I tweaked was making my own “buttermilk” with lemon juice and milk…or was it milk and vinegar? Basically I made sour milk and used that in the recipe. It turned out really great, but can’t share the recipe since it’s in the book. But, really, you should just check the book out for yourself! I’ve talked about it before here.

Creamy Garlic Pasta with Shrimp and Vegetables

IMG_2485

Recipe found here. This was awesome! I receive Eating Well magazine (free subscription from an order with Vitacost!) and really enjoy the magazine and the recipes included. Joe and my father-in-law really enjoyed this dish too! Basically, you get this amazing creamy sauce from yogurt (I used Greek yogurt), with a tangy freshness from the lemon, yogurt, and parsley, and a perfect amount of spice from garlic and black pepper. With whole wheat spaghetti, shrimp, and a lot of veggies, this is quite the well-rounded meal.

IMG_2486  

Ok, so that was just getting caught up with April! May recipes to come…

“We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they are good for us-they help us to learn to endure. And endurance develops strength of character in us, and character strengthens our confident expectation of salvation. And this expectation will not disappoint us. for we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Sprit to fill our hearts with his love.” Romans 5:3-5

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Mmmmm….all of that looks SO GOOD! I absolutely love PEA soup…..could eat it every day and never knew there were yellow peas. I’ve always wondered about sardines. and anchovies….may have to try. They look good in that yummy Greek salad! You sure were busy cooking! Love you!

    • I wanted to try sardines for the health benefits, mainly because I could always use some natural anti inflammatories! I’m with ya on the soup! I haven’t tried anchovies yet, but I think I could dig ’em!? Love you!!

  2. […] yesterday when I posted those Chipotle Black Bean Burritos? I said that you can freeze leftover chipotle chiles to use for other recipes. Well, pull them out, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories