Posted by: Lauren | April 25, 2010

dirt, buds, and blooms

Last Friday night I cooked dinner for my family at my parents’ house. Well, actually I made mostly everything at my house, then grilled the chicken at their house.

Pinchy pinchy.

IMG_2376

Grilled Garlic & Basil Chicken

IMG_2377

When I got home from work, I marinated these organic chicken thighs (thought I bought chicken breasts-ooops) in olive oil, balsamic vinegar, tons of minced garlic, 3 tsp fresh basil, and sea salt and pepper.

Coconut Basil Quinoa recipe adapted from here

IMG_2378

  • 2 cup quinoa, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cans light coconut milk
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 tsp fresh basil
  • peas
  • salt and pepper

In a medium saucepan, combine quinoa, coconut milk, water and basil. Once it reaches a rolling boil, reduce heat, cover, and cook for about 10-15 minutes, until liquid is absorbed. Add thawed frozen peas, salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_2359

Spinach salad with chopped apples, carrots, and sweet peppers. I love these mini sweet peppers from Costco! Saw them on Allie’s blog. They have barely any seeds and are so sweet-so easy to chop up and add to salads and lunches for Joe and me.

IMG_2361

IMG_2380  Salad with my momma’s dressing-the best. Olive oil, balsamic, garlic salt, pepper.

IMG_2381 IMG_2383

IMG_2382

IMG_2385       IMG_2384

My dad served up the ice cream! Chocolate with chocolate covered cashews-yum! Of course I went back for more like 2452 times.

Dear Steve and Sara, please move closer.

—-

We all crashed my parents’ house again the next day. While the boys worked in the garden, I went on a little nature walk in my parents’ yard. They’re the ones that have instilled such a love in me of God’s amazing creation.

IMG_2387 

IMG_2393

IMG_2397

This is my favorite:

IMG_2417

IMG_2420

IMG_2410

IMG_2416

IMG_2414 

IMG_2419

IMG_2411

Like I said, the boys got that garden ready for another summer of the best produce. I think we’ll have the same as last year: asparagus that comes up every year, spinach, different kinds of lettuce, carrots, radishes, sweet corn(so sweet & juicy, the absolute best-we would go out and eat it raw), green beans, butternut squash, tomatoes, and I’m sure I’m forgetting something.

Sam and Joe pruned my parents’ fruit trees to let in more sunlight.

IMG_2391 IMG_2389

Don’t you just want to scoop up some of that dirt and smell it? Just me?

IMG_2400

“The Kingdom of Heaven is like a mustard seed planted in a field. It is the smallest of all seeds, but it becomes the largest of garden plants and grows into a tree where birds can come and find shelter in its branches.” Matthew 13:31,32

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Mmmmmm…..I’m hungry now after reading about the meal you prepped for the fam! That chicken looks awesome!! I heard a chef say that thighs are the most underrated cut of meat. They have tons of flavor etc. The nature pics are incredible…..those bleeding hearts are one of my favs! They are the most incredibly amazing little things. The garden is going to be AWESOME! What great farmers those guys are! Loved your letter to Steve and Sara. Love you!

  2. Hah I know when you wrote this post ;)!
    Mmm that chicken was delicious! Can’t wait for the garden— We had to wait on the squash, green beans, and zucs, watermelon, and tomatoes (needs warmer dirt 🙂 We may even try pickles, potatoes, and cantaloupe this year!! Holla!
    Whats ups Aunt Sharona! Cant wait to see you in July!

  3. HA! Katie, I guess this is my form of FaceBook! Mmmmm…….are you going to make sweet pickles or dill? I am fine and can’t wait to see you too! That garden will be amazing!

  4. Hey Lauren,

    Sorry I’ve been MIA lately! I love that photo of you with the hub 🙂 If I am ever in Chicago, I know exactly where I want to have dinner!! You are cooking up some fabulous looking meals. Aren’t those mini peppers so sweet!?

    PS You’ve got some camera skillz!!

  5. I just got some quinoa and I think that coconut basil recipe would be the perfect use for it! Thanks for posting!

  6. And to think God could have created one tree, one flower…..love your pictures Lauren. Love having you over even more!


Leave a Reply

Categories