Posted by: Lauren | April 19, 2010

surprise bridal shower

My sister and her friends threw their sweet friend, Sarah, a surprise bridal shower when she was in town from Colorado. I love these girls. Ever since Katie headed off to IWU and I went to visit her, I loved hanging out with her and her friends. So, the shower was at my parents, and Sarah loved it and was totally surprised. Or at least she convinced us of that 😉

IMG_2116

Sarah’s colors are black and white, so my mom got the white tulips and black napkins, and Katie got the little black and white lanterns for favors. So great, right?!

IMG_2122

IMG_2126 Surprise!

IMG_2136Me with the beautiful bride-to-be!

IMG_2137 Jess and Steph. Hi gorgeous gals! 

IMG_2139

Jess, Katie, Sarah, and Stephanie.

IMG_2141

Steph’s Gma, Amy’s mom (Amy was very missed!), Momma, Jess, Katie, Sarah, Steph, and Steph’s mom.

IMG_2145IMG_2146

IMG_2142 IMG_2143 IMG_2144 

The girls had dinner before, so we had some apps and dessert: Jess’ cupcakes and fondue! Gah so good. I think I ate my weight in pretzels, angel food cake (ok that’s light), strawberries, fresh pineapple, and bananas dipped in this dark chocolate fondue. I need to get the recipe Mom used. It was soooo good. She also had marshmallows and teddy grahams for dipping!

I made Aunt Sharon’s pizza dip! Shout out to Sharona’s amazing apps and recipes! Here’s the recipe with my slight changes:

Pizza Dip

  • 8 oz. package of cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (I used Greek yogurt)
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese (or packaged)
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 jar pizza sauce
  • 3/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 pkg. (3 1/2 oz) sliced pepperoni, finely chopped (I used half that, and cut them in half rather than finely chopped, because I’m lazy like that)
  • 1 pkg. pita bread, cut into triangles (I use TJ’s whole wheat pita)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl, beat cream cheese until fluffy. Stir in sour cream, parmesan cheese and garlic salt. Spread into a lightly greased 9 inch pie plate. Spread pizza sauce over cream cheese mixture. Spread mozzarella cheese over pizza sauce and top with pepperoni. Bake about 20 minutes or until heated through. Arrange pita bread triangles on a cookie sheet and warm at the same time to crisp them (sometimes my pita triangles get too crispy, so I only warm them for the last 10 minutes that the dip is in the oven). Spread dip on triangles.

IMG_2157 IMG_2167 IMG_2158IMG_2161 

Games and opening presents went down-Steph had fun games I’ve never heard of and really cute prizes-hence the black and white boxes. After the ‘rents left, I stuck around for awhile to chat with the girls with my coat and shoes on, planning on leaving over and over. Just love spending time with these gals.

Sarah, I am so happy and excited for you!!! You are going to be an amazing wife!!!

“Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony.” Colossians 3:14

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. What a wonderful SURPRISE shower!!!!! I’m sure Sarah felt totally pampered!!! Thanks for the “shout out” re: the Pepperoni Dip! So, get this….you can now buy a bag of Hormel Pepperoni pieces that are a little larger than the size of a 3-ring ‘hole puncher’ thingy! As Katie would say…..TIIIINNY pepperoni. So, no cutting needed. How was it with the Greek yogurt? I’ve heard it’s great to sub in dips. Mmmmm.. Oh, you’re right about the pitas getting too crispy. Uncle Ri-Ri said the same thing, so I just do the last few mins now! I’ll send you a couple new app recipes via e-mail!

    • hahah the size of a hole puncher thingy! Yes! I totally did see them, but I went with the regular ol’ kind. It was great with the Greek yogurt! I use it as a replacement for sour cream all the time now.

  2. P.S. Gorgeous job on the table setting, Coll, Katie, and company!! I’m seeing a business BLOOMING!!!

  3. Thanks for my shout out, too! You guys did such a great job with the apps and decor and just being generally hospitable as usual! SO good catching up with you and glad you stayed to chat!

    Also, I stole a couple pictures from your blog. Hope thats ok! :o)


Leave a Reply

Categories