Posted by: Lauren | March 20, 2010

i say tomato

After looking through some recent dinner photos, I realized tomatoes were included in all of them.  Growing up, I used to think raw tomatoes were so gross. Then, over the past few years, I started liking them more and more, especially if they were garden fresh and topped with salt, pepper, and balsamic. 🙂

Whole Wheat Potato Gnocchi with Veggies

IMG_1453

So, unfortunately the gnocchi was not homemade (someday I’ll try that), but this is a really fast and delicious way to add some extra nutrients to your pasta, ravioli, etc. I heated about a tsp of extra virgin olive oil, then added a small onion, diced carrots and defrosted (frozen) broccoli, and once they were tender, I added a minced clove of garlic. Topped the gnocchi with the flavorful veggies, and a jarred mushroom tomato sauce. I went back several times for more!

See? There’s the gnocchi…

IMG_1454

Another tomato-y meal:

IMG_1441 I’ve had this butternut squash with spicy chickpea tomato sauce on the blog before, but it’s just so yummy and good for ya, I had to put it on again. Butternut squash is probably not in season anymore(?), but it tasted amazing. I made this spicy chickpea tomato sauce in the fall and froze some, and it worked perfectly. We like to eat this right out of the skin, like little squash boats.

IMG_1442

That sauce made another debut:

Simple Turkey Burgers

IMG_1449 

  • 1.25 lbs lean ground turkey
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 egg
  • small handful of whole wheat bread crumbs
  • small handful of parmesan or romano cheese
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground pepper

Make into patties and grill or cook on your stovetop. I just preheated my pan, mistoed with oil, cooked about five ish minutes on each side, with lid on to cook through.

I put mine on spinach and topped with warm tomato sauce, but for Joe I made into a pita sandwich with mayo, spinach and pepper jack cheese.

IMG_1447

On the side, roasted cauliflower and sweet potato discs, cooked side by side. So easy and so tasty. Spray your baking sheet with oil, slice sweet potatoes into discs, chop fresh cauliflower, place on baking sheet, spray again, top with sea salt and freshly ground pepper. I cooked mine at 385 degrees for 18 minutes (odd, I know), I’m sure 375 for 20 would work 😉

IMG_1448

IMG_1446

Vegetable Soup

IMG_1467

This is a great and easy recipe inspired from Real Simple (click here for recipe). You could change it up a bunch of different ways depending on what vegetables you have in your fridge or freezer. My changes/notes are in italics:

  • 2  tablespoons  olive oil
  • 1  large yellow onion, chopped or two small Spanish or sweet onions
  • 2  carrots, chopped probably used more
  • 2  celery stalks, chopped
  • 3  14.5-ounce cans low-sodium chicken broth I used a 32 oz. container, and 10 oz with Trader Joe’s chicken packet-weird, but handy to keep on hand
  • 1/2  pound  Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch chunks I only had one small red potato, but it worked!
  • 1  tablespoon  fresh thyme leaves or 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2  teaspoon  kosher salt I used sea salt
  • 1  14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes
  • 1/4  pound  green beans, cut into 1-inch pieces I probably used 2 cups of frozen green beans, chopped
  • 1  cup  chopped broccoli
  • ~3/4 cup frozen sweet corn
  • topped with freshly ground pepper

    Heat the oil in a large saucepan or stockpot over medium-high heat. Add the onion, carrots, and celery and cook until softened but not browned, about 5 minutes. Add the broth, 1 cup of water, the potatoes, thyme, and salt. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover partially, and simmer for 15 minutes.
    Add the tomatoes, green beans, and broccoli, return to a simmer, and cook until the vegetables are tender, 5 to 10 minutes.

    Like I said, you can change it a bunch of ways. Next time I’ll add frozen peas, and I’d make this in the summer with squash too.

    IMG_1468

    Remember my bulbs from the other day? Yesterday it was 65 degrees, warm and sunny. Here’s what it looks like today:IMG_1469

  • Snow. On the first day of spring. So, I pretty much naturally turn to complaining in situations like this. Then I was reading about worshiping and not whining, no matter the circumstances. Tough, you know? I mean, snow isn’t a big deal, but for the things that are “big deals.” Like that whole pruning thing. I think I have some themes that reappear quite a bit on the blog: gratefulness, trusting God, contentment, joy…

    Have I ever shared that Proverbs 31 ministry link on here? I don’t go to it all the time, but when I do, it is encouraging and speaks to me. That’s where I was reading about worshiping not whining…which I feel like I was just reading about that. Funny how God works, huh?

    Good thing I made that soup yesterday. Perfect on the throat, and on this chilly day.

    IMG_1470 

    xoxo

    Lauren

    Responses

    1. I’ve always been a tomato fan. My bestie HATES tomatoes with a passion and so did my sophomore year roommate. I never even thought of tomatoes as something to dislike 🙂 I’m glad you’ve grown to love them though. They are SO delicious fresh from your own garden. We used to have some in our backyard and it was fabulous.

      Great recipes, Lauren!!

    2. I love your way of mixing the chickpeas with tomato sauce to top your spaghetti squash! I have to say, I am sad to see your bulbs in the snow 😦 …soon enough though 🙂

    3. Great soup to help get me ready for the summer swimsuit months!


    Leave a Reply

        Categories