Posted by: Lauren | March 14, 2010

icy hot

Hi guys! Geez where did I disappear off to? I have about a million photos on my memory card, but I’ll condense and probably split up into a few posts. I usually don’t have much of a theme to my posts, but I sort of have one, so get excited.

I’ve been seeing these smoothies on quite a few blogs lately, and now I know why: they’re delicious. So I made a variation:

 IMG_1418 

Cherry Chocolate Smoothie

  • 1 cup original almond milk
  • 2-3 huge handfuls of raw spinach
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder (I use Jay Robb-no scary ingredients)
  • 8-10 frozen cherries
  • Spoonful of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • about 1/2 frozen banana
  • 5 ice cubes

First blend together the almond milk, spinach, and protein powder  (I think blending spinach first helps you to not get any chunks in your smoothie). Then add the cherries, cocoa powder, banana and ice cubes. Makes one LARGE serving.

IMG_1419

I couldn’t believe that I iced my shins and knees for a half hour, then started drinking an icy smoothie, and I didn’t feel cold…for long.

IMG_1403 Costco bag of frozen broccoli. Works wonderfully.

Since it was sickie-ville over here a couple weeks ago, I made us hot soup and chili that week, and Joe’s mom brought over amazing soup and cornbread, so we were set! Here is the link to my chili recipe.

IMG_1358

Here is a bit of a play by play in case you’re interested:

IMG_1349First, brown the meat and add it to the crock pot. Then, sauté the veggies (I was out of green pepper, so I used yellow-they both work!).

IMG_1352Some of the main ingredients thrown in the crock pot as well. (I love that mini strainer from C&B my aunt got us-perfect for rinsing beans, berries, etc.) The main reason I like to use the organic beans is that they don’t have weird preservatives that I try to avoid-you can usually find good sales of them at the grocery or at TJ’s for a good price. The organic diced tomatoes are from Costco.

IMG_1353   Add in chili powder, sea salt, pepper, cayenne pepper. Cook on low about 4 hours.

I didn’t get a pic of my mother-in-law’s soup, but it was SO good, I need to get her recipe and share it on here. We ate her cornbread on this hot barley & bean soup, which I’m actually not even going to share how I made it, because it wasn’t very good!:( BUT cheese and cornbread are like band-aids: they cover up any boo boos.

IMG_1395

Basically it was too spicy (even for us), the barley got too mushy, and the flavor just wasn’t quite right. 

When Joe and I were home sick, we decided to get some fresh air at a nearby prairie preserve. Still icy then, but the sun was hot and we took advantage.

IMG_1367

IMG_1370

IMG_1389   Kissy.

Isn’t the spring sunshine so encouraging!? Hope you all are feeling healthy, spending some good times with family and friends, and reminded of how loved you are.

“I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” Psalm 139:14

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Hey Lauren! I’m sorry you guys are sick! you must have caught it through my blog! HA! Can’t wait to try that smoothie. Looks amazing!!! Great pics too!
    xoxo

    • Thanks Julie! When you first left this comment, no one was sick anymore…until yesterday! I’m sick again! Booo

  2. I’m glad you’re posting again. I’ve missed you! That smoothie looks SO GOOD! I love cherry chocolate ice cream, so I bet I’d love that! Love the Kissy-kiss picture! Too cute. Hope you are feeling better by now. I didn’t know you were sick! Love you tons!

    • Thanks Aunt Sharon-yes cherry chocolate ice cream–Yum!

  3. LOVE the B mug 🙂 My A mug seriously brightens my day every morning…..not sure why haha. I need to get me some cherries to put in my smoothies! And yes, frozen veggies are the bomb for icing shins. They don’t leak or melt or anything.

    ❤ the kissy shadow

    • Seriously the costco broc is a perfect size for my shins and my knees! Love it 🙂

  4. Hope you feel better soon!!! The smoothie looks so good. Today I made oats on the stove- just like you said SO GOOD!! I love the added vanilla adds some sweetness to it. One kid told me my papers at school always smell like vanilla haha too funny.

    • hahahah that’s hilarious. Tell me later who said that. I’m so glad you liked them!


Leave a Reply

Categories