Posted by: Lauren | February 28, 2010

a dinner for our favorite men

Last weekend my friends, sister, sister-in-law and I threw a little Valentine’s Dinner for our husbands to just love on them and honor them. It was such a fun night! We sat around the table and talked, laughed hysterically, and prayed for our men from the book Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie Omartian. I wanted to cook a “manly meal” so with the help of all these fabulous girls, we cooked up a spread in Katie and Kody’s kitchen.

The eats:

Chips and Corn Chile Salsa

Hamburgers with tons of toppings (avocado, caramelized onions, the usual, etc.)

Roasted Green Beans

Roasted Red Potatoes

Sweet Potato Fries

Salad made by Kim (avo, candied pecans, pears, gorgonzola, AMAZING!)

Dessert was Chocolate Fudge Cakes made by Katie (warm, gooey, so YUMMY!)

IMG_1292IMG_1294IMG_1293 IMG_1289 IMG_1290IMG_1291

IMG_1295

The beautiful table setting the girls created. We all wrote our hubbies sweet notes to leave at their place setting.

IMG_1298

IMG_1299

IMG_1302

Kim and Brett

IMG_1303 Katie, Sam and…Jooooe!

IMG_1304

Aw there just Katie and Sam

IMG_1309

Me. Hubs.

IMG_0601 Ok so this picture was from New Years Eve, but I didn’t get a pic of Lora and Brandon before they left to get home to the baby! They’re still just as cute two months later.

IMG_1311

Our hosts: Katie and Kody

We missed Sarah, Tim, Renee, and Greg, so that’s why there is plans for another one! We’ve already got a theme in mind…

So the caramelized onions (burger topping) brought up a discussion on what makes them caramelized and not just sautéed. I thought that caramelized was bringing the natural sugars out of something, so I looked it up, and indeed this is true. You slowly cook them in some kind of fat (butter or oil) and they get brown and sweet.  I also told my friend I thought it just sounds better. 😉

Joe and I took home the leftovers, so here is a shot of a few random onions on Joe’s burgers. And he got quite sentimental with the ketchup. The blog tables were turned as he prepped and took the photo while I started eating. Er no patience…

IMG_1312

*edited to add: Is there a pic of jars of peanut butter here? This morning I saw that, but it should be Joe’s burgers, and then if you click on it, the right picture comes up. Weeeeeiiiiird.

I’m so grateful to celebrate the incredible gift that Joe is to me, and also to do so with friends and family.

“Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers a multitude of sins.” 1 Peter 4:8

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Lauren, this was the sweetest thing I’ve ever seen! I hope that Eddy and I can find great couple friends like you have!

    • Hey Holly!! How are you?! I’ll probably try and get over to fbook to say hello in case you don’t read this. 🙂

  2. That is such a sweet gesture of you ladies! Men deserve some pampering on V-Day too, right? The meal you all whipped up looks hearty and healthy…way to go!

    Joe is a lucky man to have you in his life!

    • Thanks Allie! Isn’t he though?! 😉

  3. you guys are so cute 🙂

    you won the total immersion giveaway! yay! can you email me your address?

    seebriderun at gmail

  4. Oh Lauren, what a fun idea! It is nice to have such a good circle of friends. Some good eats, I must say. Think I might look into that book. Cute ketchup writing!

    • Paula, that book is seriously amazing-I totally recommend it. I also love her book “Power of Praying Woman.” Really good stuff.

  5. Lauren,
    That was truly a LOVE-FEST! What a wonderful idea!!! Ri-Ri and I would LOVE to be there next time…..tee-hee!!! Those monogrammed burgers are too cute! Great pics…..no pnut butter pic on this end. Too sad, not like when your I said goodbye to your parents today. Love you tons!

    • You two are invited over ANYTIME!!!! I wish you could just come over whenever you wanted! I wish I was with M&D this past week (with Joe too) 🙂 so sad to miss out on seeing you all and all the fun! It’s never fun to say goodbye 😦 I love you guys-give U. Ri Ri a big hug for me!

  6. Wow, this is the sweetest idea! It is a little late now for anything Valentine’s related, but I guess its never too late to throw a dinner party in order to show love and appreciation for people in our lives! Thanks for the inspiration!

    – Christina

    • Hi Christina, thanks for the comment! You said it right-it’s always a good time to show people how much you love them. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories