Posted by: Lauren | February 23, 2010

a few of my favorite things

Here are some of my recent favorite things:

1. Getting a surprise package in the mail from my sweet friend, Allie.

IMG_1286

IMG_1287

So far I’ve had the Rosie bar, made in Raleigh, NC, which I think is the best granola bar I’ve ever had. I also took a tip from Allie’s blog and had one of the Heart Thrive hearts after working out and before grocery shopping, and it was the perfect refuel snack. The teas are so yummy too! Allie, thank you SO SO much again!

IMG_1316  

More favorite things…

2. Scoring lots of organic produce for incredible prices at our local grocery store, Caputo’s.  Then making a delicious salad out of said produce. Local readers, their produce is always a good price, but sometimes you can find the organic produce for insanely good prices (as in cheaper than non organic produce).

IMG_1334

 IMG_1337In the center there is leftovers from my Quick and Easy Veggie Stir Fry. Then I top with another favorite:

IMG_1339I could’ve eaten more of that salad for dessert. Yum. 

3. When I left my house on Tuesday it was snowing, but when I left the gym, the sun was shining and the air was warm(er), allowing me to drive with no heat and the window down a crack. Woot.

4. Making fun sweet treats.

These chocolate covered frozen bananas look pretty rough, but they were good! Joe’s parents and sister came over so I thought it would be fun to make these. However, I don’t have the technique down-the chocolate didn’t want to stay on the naner. Anyway, it was just melted semi sweet chips, bananas cut in half, dipped in chocolate, then rolled in chopped peanuts, coconut, and mini chips. Pop in the freezer for a little bit.

IMG_1285

These Almond Butter Blondies are really yummy and only require 6 ingredients: almond butter, agave nectar, eggs, salt, baking soda, chocolate chips! No flour! I got the idea from Allie, and these did not disappoint.

IMG_1279 

5. Waffles for dinner:

Healthier Wheat Waffles

  • 2 cups white wheat flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 packet stevia, or 2 T sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 1 cup original almond milk
  • 3 Tbsp oil

Preheat your waffle iron. Mix together dry ingredients, then mix wet ingredients in another bowl, and combine. Joe said these were better than the ones we had the other day that came from the Cuisanart recipe-and these are way healthier! Score. I calculated they were about 221 calories a waffle, if you’re interested 😉

IMG_1331Topped with peanut butter, (that I tried to make thinner like a sauce with almond milk, but didn’t work, prob needed more milk), and some organic reduced sugar strawberry jam. Side of scrambled eggs with spinach, topped with salsa. Plates were cleaned.

I have a BIG favorite thing to share in my next post…an amazing night with friends and family! Coming soon!

“Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good! His faithful love endures forever.” Psalm 136:1

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Awww yay!! So glad you enjoyed the almond butter blondies! Aren’t they the easiest recipe known the [wo]man?

    Your excitement about the package put a big ol’ smile on my face 🙂

    It snowed for about 30 seconds this morning and then the sun was shinin’ bright. Straaaaange!

  2. Finally got around to trying the Classic Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie. It was scrumptious! I shared with Larry and he agreed. We will keep bananas in the freezer from now on! Thanks and love!

    • I’m so glad! It’s a perfect snack, dessert, breakfast… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories