Posted by: Lauren | November 5, 2009

zucchini turkey burritos

I made these burritos without a recipe, just throwing stuff in the pan. You all know how much I love finding new recipes that are delish, but I really love when I can create something of my own without following the measurements of a recipe in front of me, you know what I mean? I was inspired by a recipe I made over the summer, but I didn’t want to look it up or follow it. Oh and thought you’d all like to know that Joe is dominating a box of Halloween Oreos as I write this. Healthy snack, huh? That boy and his metabolism…er and the fact that he lifts like 800 lbs of stuff and moves all day. Yeah I guess that burns some calories.

Onto burritos! By adding the shredded zucchini (and any other vegetable you want to add!), you make it more filling and nutritious, while stretching the meat further, saving you some bucks! Stop by www.thenourishinggourmet.com or click here for some other frugal and tasty recipes.

By the way, I did the “Rachael Ray” method of measuring-using my hand and not spoons, so this is an estimate.

IMG_3391

Zucchini Turkey Burritos with Cilantro Corn & Black Beans (serves 4-5 average-hunger-eaters)

For the meat:

1 lb. lean ground turkey

1 heaping tsp. chili powder

1/2 medium zucchini, shredded

1/4 tsp salt

1/4-1/2 tsp. pepper

minced onions (optional, I used just a sprinkling of dry)

1/8 tsp dried oregano

sprinkle of garlic powder and onion powder

1 Tbsp tomato paste (I love getting the tubes and refrigerating them)

Combine ingredients in a pan and sauté until meat is no longer pink. I drained some of the liquid then added the tomato paste.

Cilantro Corn

1 bag of frozen sweet corn (or canned, but not as good I’ve found)

2 tsp. fresh cilantro (I use the frozen cilantro cubes from Trader Joe’s)

Combine corn and cilantro; I defrost in microwave (I don’t use water! Just want to get the chill off but not make it all hot and watery-more like a salsa).

Add lime juice and jalapeño if you have it!

Final product:

Warm up whole wheat tortilla. Top with turkey zucchini mixture, corn, drained and rinsed black beans that have been heated, and any other toppings (I used lettuce mix, Mexican cheese blend, organic chipotle salsa from Target, and sour cream).

IMG_3393

I shouldn’t complain about the camera I have, it’s been through YEARS of hard work. So that’s all I’m going to say about that…. Also, it’s just a challenge to get some good lighting at night, even with lots of lamps, etc.

Leaving with some good words from God: Colossians 3:12 “Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.”

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. […] is a recipe for Zucchini Turkey Burritos with Cilantro Corn and Black Beans. A simple but tasty recipe in which shredded zucchini (or any other shredded vegetable) stretches […]

  2. That looks good. I too love to cook without a recipe and invent as I go.

    • Thanks for the nice comment Millie! 🙂

  3. Girl, Rachael Ray’s has got nuttin’ on you!!! You are so creative! Tell Joe his poop is going to be orange from the Oreos! HA!! I’m gross!!! I’m in the process of prepping for Game Night…I’m doing that Halloween Pumpkin/Ice Cream Dessert (the one that looked orange with caramel and choc drizzled) and Bird’s Nest Chicken. I’m also making that Velveeta, Rotel, Sausage dip…..always a pleaser with guys! I’ll serve some healthy veggies with some Buffalo/Blue Cheese dip from a mix I bought. Oh, and I’m making a Kahlua/Pecan Brie…..easy and microwaveable. Those are new recipes (except cheese dip). I’ll let you know how they turn out!! Love you!

    • haha Sick! How did Game Night go? All those eats sound amazing! Kahlua/Pecan brie?! Yes please!!! Did you like all those things? Want to pass along recipes? Love you!!


Leave a Reply

Categories