Posted by: Lauren | November 1, 2009

smell my feet

Passing out candy to the kiddos in our home for the first time was a success! It was cute watching Joe talk and hold out the big bowl for the kids too 😉 Best part of the trick or treating: Little boy walks up on the stoop with the other kids: “Hi!!!” he says very enthusiastically. I smile and say “hi!” to him and am bent down on the kids’ level. Boy: “Do you have a microwave?!” (as he looks inside at our microwave) “I do” (with a smile). Boy: “What color is it?” I tell him that it’s called stainless steel. (Other kids waiting to get some candy) He asks “What are you cooking for dinner?” I respond: “Chili. Now move aside kid.” JK JK, but I told him chili and then some kind of adult came and got him. It was hilarious, though.

Before the festivities began, Joe and I sampled a little pumpkin ale. Was it good? Let’s just say I put the cap back on it and put it back in the fridge. Gross, right? Yeah, well so was the beer.

IMG_3357

Onto the spread! My wonderful Aunt Sharon emailed me all these fun Halloween recipes and these are the ones I chose.

“Pumpkin” Cheese Dip:

IMG_3363

1 block 1/3 less fat cream cheese, softened

1 tub onion and chive cream cheese

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

2 tsp. paprika

1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper

Celery rib for “pumpkin stem”

Assorted crackers, sliced apples

Combine ingredients, wrap in saran wrap, form into ball and refrigerate for 4 hours. Find original recipe here

IMG_3365

Peanut Butter Dip

IMG_3355

1/2 cup vanilla yogurt

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips.

Pretzels and apple slices

Original recipe found here

IMG_3366

We also had some chips and black bean and corn salsa before the chili!

IMG_3364

Chili for dinner(picture from when I made it a few weeks ago) and Katie brought some cornbread which she claimed she overbaked when the trick or treaters came, but I thought it was delish!

IMG_3214

IMG_3371

Sisters!

Coral brought pumpkin cookies 🙂

IMG_3372

For dessert we also had Chocolate Spiders! Thank you, Aunt Sharon for passing along all these fun recipes! To find the original for these, click here

IMG_3374

Coral and her spider!

IMG_3376

Nate's spider with 8 eyes

When Sarah and Tim came over we watched “The Village,” which is just right for me for Halloween-not too scary! I hate gory/evil movies.

I loved gaining an hour this morning and waking up slow with Joe this morning. That is such a gift! I’m so grateful for our church and how we are challenged, encouraged and equipped to spend our time serving those that God loves with such an incredible love, and who are in such need. (www.ccclife.org) How does my schedule show that my heart and priorities match God’s?

“And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.” Micah 6:8

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. What a fun party!! I could go for some spider pudding right now! Thanks for having us over!!

    • There are spidys waiting here for you! Thanks for the cornbread! Joe had some with his 20th bowl of chili today 😉

  2. Hi Lauren,
    I LOVED te story about the little boy and the microwave…..too cute. I can just see your face.
    I’m THRILLED that you were able to use some of the recipes I found!!! I made the pumpkin dip for Gma’s party and it was yummy (I followed the recipe you posted, but used Feta for reg cream cheese), but how did you like the pnut butter dip and the spidies???? It looks like you let your guests decorate their own spider…..too cute!!! It looks like you had a fun time! I can see that Kiks liked the spidies! Too cute! Love and miss you tons!

    • Hi Sharon! Wasn’t that cheese dip delish?! We all liked it a lot! I also really enjoyed the peanut butter dip and ate it with more apple slices tonight. I think I would even spread it on a toasted waffle-it was really good! I only ate the pudding and didn’t eat the spider pie! I even told myself I wouldn’t eat the pudding since it had so many crazy preservatives and nasty ingredients, but I did anyway! With some crushed Halloween oreos too! How was Gmas party? Wish we could’ve been there to celebrate. I love and miss you! Give Uncle Ri Ri a hug for me! I miss and love him too!

  3. Lauren,
    Thanks for the info about the dip and spiders. I’m hosting Game Night this Friday night and was thinking about the peanut butter dip……there was also a caramel peanut dip on that same site. I may look at that again. Love to plan this stuff, as you do!! Have a wonderful day. Love you!

  4. You are the queen of dips!!! Those look fab! Awww what a cute little kid. He’s a future foodie 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories