Posted by: Lauren | October 30, 2009

sloppy lentils

I found this recipe yesterday here and slightly adjusted it. It’s vegetarian, high fiber, low fat, tasty & cheap. Check out her site for the original–one thing I found was that it was a bit too sweet, so I would recommend cutting back the 3 Tablespoons of honey to 1-2. And, no, I have not become vegetarian, despite many of the recipes here lately, I just really like my veggies and legumes! πŸ˜‰ The husband ate two huge burgers tonight-he’s doing just fine.

IMG_3350

Sloppy Lentils (slightly adapted from http://www.passionatehomemaking.com)

2 cups water

1 cup lentils (brown or red-I used red) rinsed and drained

1 cup chopped red onion

29 oz can of tomato puree (or use 28 oz can of diced tomatoes or tomato sauce-I had puree)

squirt or two of tomato paste (recipe didn’t call for this, probably not needed)

1/2 cup organic ketchup

2 cloves garlic

1 T apple cider vinegar

1-2 T honey (or rapadura, molasses, etc.)

1 t ground mustard

1 T chili powder

freshly ground salt and pepper to taste

Shredded Cheese (optional)

Whole Wheat Hamburger buns or Bread/Toast

Combine all ingredients in crockpot and set on low for 5 hours. Serve with open whole wheat hamburger buns and cheese, or, I used toasted whole wheat toast for Joe (I had mine without bread but mixed with roasted potatoes).

IMG_3351

P.S. I’m really enjoying have a gym membership. Today I was listening to the “Slumdog Millionaire” soundtrack while on the elliptical and “Who Wants To Be A Millinoiare” came on the t.v. Ironic, no? Yesterday I listened to some of those songs while on the treadmill with the incline on 15 and pretended I was hiking in Nepal. You may think I’m joking…

Have a great weekend!

β€œPhysical training is good, but training for godliness is much better, promising benefits in this life and in the life to come.” 1 Timothy 4: 8

xoxo

Lauren

 

Responses

  1. Lauren,
    Those Sloppy Lentils loook so yummy!! I was thinking that I might add some ground chicken to that recipe. I just bought some and was wondering what I would do with it. Thanks for sharing. Did you do your moves to Slumdog? HA!!! Love you! Sharon

  2. Good idea! That would be yummy with some ground chicken! Also try adding some more spice-it tasted better with lots of black pepper. hahah I should’ve done the dance moves to paper planes on the treadmill! πŸ˜‰ Happy Halloween! Love you too!

  3. those sloppy lentils are PURE YUM. i want to try it. i wonder if i can use beans?

    • I’m sure! Pinto or Black beans seem like they would be good in this!

  4. Mmm I haven’t had sloppy joe’s in forever!! This is a great veggie adaptation, Lauren! Haha your elliptical story put a smile on my face πŸ™‚ You’re too cute.

    • Aw thanks Allie! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories