Posted by: Lauren | October 28, 2009

sometimes you feel like a nut

sometimes you don’t. Almond Joy’s got nuts….

You finish the rest.

Why are there no jingles anymore?!

I made Almond Joy Oatmeal this morning–without the candy bar.

IMG_3338

I made about 1/4 cup of oatmeal with 1/2 cup of water. Added some chia seeds for the omega 3s, fiber, and other good-for-you stuff. Topped with shredded coconut and semi sweet chocolate chips. Try it on Candy Day Halloween!

I also made these sweet treats:

IMG_3339

ahh ugly flash!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins (adapted from http://www.carrotsncake.com)

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup oats

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 1/4 cup pumpkin

1 egg

1 t baking powder

1/2 baking soda

1/2 t cinnamon

1 T canola oil

1/2 c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375. Grease/spray muffin tin or line with paper cups.

Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl (love that) and stir to combine.

Fill muffin tin and bake for 16-18 minutes. Enjoy!

IMG_3342

Joe and I went to my parents’ for dinner, and I got to spend the afternoon working out with my mom and going grocery shopping (neither of us have really normal schedules, and my parents had the week off). I love spending time with them!

Mom’s beautiful table decor:

IMG_3343

Mom made a delicious minestrone soup that had pureed kidney beans in the broth, leeks, lots of veggies, etc. Yum! I topped mine with some Parmesan and cracked black peppa and later added Giardiniera! Gah I love that stuff!!! Seriously, if you pickle or pack veggies with oil, it will taste awesome.

IMG_3345

Mom is also the Queen of awesome salads. This one was spring mix, tomatoes, yellow pepper, feta, pecans, & crasins with honey mustard dressing.

IMG_3347

Little did we know that the other was baking some pumpkin treats. I bring over muffins, and she had pumpkin pecan chocolate chip bread in the oven! The answer is simple: eat it all go halvsies. I left some muffins, she sent me home with some bread. I just had some-deeeelish!

I should be back to posting some dinner recipes soon. I’ve just been repeating some recipes you’ve already seen/not cooking/eating out/eating at other people’s houses/warming up a box of Indian Fare from Trader Joes and calling it a day.

A constant, necessary reminder: “Come near to God and He will come near to you. Wash your hands…and purify your hearts.” James 4:8

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Glad to see your post today! So, which did you like better, the pumpkin muffins or the bread. I have been wanting to make something “Fallish”, but which was better? I guess I’d have to hit up your mom for her recipe. Hope you are having a great day! Miss you!

  2. I liked Mom’s bread! It was Trader Joe’s mix and she said she added fiber(?), pecans, and choc chips. That was what I went for today after lunch instead of the muffins! Miss you!

  3. My friend brought me a box of the “gingerbread mix” from TJs and she said she bought it thinking it was the Pumpkin Bread mix. I’ll have to get some of the pumpkin bread. My other friend said the gingerbread mix is hard to find once it comes out. She brought it over wrapped in a ribbon…..cute idea for a hostess gift……they came over to visit yesterday. Oh, I also bought a box of their beer bread mix (TJs)…..only $1.99. I think your mom buys that from somewhere else and it’s a lot more expensive. I’ll have to try adding the goodies yo mama added to the pumkin bread. I need to think outside the box more. Can you tell I love your blog? and you of course. Love ya!

    • Sharon, you’re like my #1 fan of this blog, and I love it! 😉 Let me know how that gingerbread mix is! I never thought I would really care for that, then one time I randomly had gingerbread cake or something, and it was so yummy with all the warm spices in there. I have seen the beer bread and have yet to buy it! I think Mom gets the Tastefully Simple mix. I saw she had it at their house but I’m not sure if she has made it yet. Love you!

  4. Great idea making your oats a candy bar flavor, seeing as how it’s almost Halloween!!


Leave a Reply

Categories