Posted by: Lauren | October 22, 2009

moroccan chickpea-and-vegetable stew

Sorry the posts have been few and far between! Dinners have been simple and full of veggies-gotta attack those nasty germs. Tonight I made a dish that was very yummy, healthy, frugal, and filling. All important in my book.

IMG_3329

You can find the recipe here (it’s from Cooking Light). You could make it vegetarian/vegan by using vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. I used whole wheat cous cous and used canola oil instead of vegetable oil, otherwise I followed the recipe very closely. Oh, I also let it simmer longer, then took it off the heat, then reheated again, just to let the flavors mingle longer before dinner.

Yesterday was gooorgeous!!

IMG_3309IMG_3313IMG_3319

Today was raaainy and cold, which led me to sign up for a gym membership, something I’ve been thinking about for awhile. I’m happy about it-there’s a pool, hot tub, sauna, raquetball courts, classes included, and I got two free training sessions! I hope to actually use the pool unlike the last gym membership I had in high school and I used it once. Meh. I ended up working on arms with the trainer and it was the hardest strength workout ever! I’m happy about it though, because I like to know I actually did something.

Here’s what it looked like:

Warm up on the elliptical for 15 minutes (yay for breaking a sweat and no shin pain!)

Then the arms were torn apart. The trainer handed me 3 lb. weights, and I was thinking, “Huh. I guess I’ll go with it.” Well seeing as I did about 100 reps nonstop it was a good weight choice! I did all different kinds of flies and arm raises and circles. 10-12 reps for each one, not stopping, so about 100 reps at one time! I did 3 sets.

Then after a minute I moved on to push ups. On my knees. Normally I’m a push ups on the toes kinda girl, but oh no, that was not happening. 5 triangle push ups (hold at 5 for all of them), 5 standard push ups, then 5 wide pushups, then 5 standard, and 5 triangle. So 25 push ups in a row.

Then I repeated all of that two more times. I did around 300 reps with weights, and 75 push ups.

Then he proceeded to beat me up with the tricep machine. 12, 10, 8 reps doing standard tricep, hammer, and some other tricep move I can’t remember. 3 sets of all that.

I can’t really raise my arms. You understand.

Cool down on elliptical for 10 minutes.

I want to do a yoga class tomorrow but I don’t know what kind of class it will be and don’t want to/shouldn’t be using my arms!

Here’s a verse I’ve memorizing (something I need to do much more of):

“Whom have I in Heaven but you? I desire you more than anything on earth. My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; he is mine forever.” Psalm 73:25, 26

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Girl! You made me tired just reading that!!
    But I am already tired. Adam and Anna Claire have kept us hopping for the last few days.

    • Oh give those two big hugs for Joe and me! It’s good to hear from you!

  2. Lauren,

    You will want to rest tomorrow…….”Yoga……too hurt, not like.” HA! The verse you posted was so meaningful because my friend is going to visit her sister who is dying of cancer. I couldn’t help but think what a comfort that would be to her sister who is dying……well, to all of us, of course, but especially those close to death. Love you!

    • Oh Sharon, I’m sorry to hear that. Be sure to pass along this verse then! Love you so much!

  3. Lauren,
    I’ve been looking for new posts on your blog. You must be a busy girl. I hope you are doing well. Update us when you can. Love you!

  4. Holy arm pain!!! Wowza!!! You are going to be ripped if you keep that up!

    Our leaves are just starting to change colors–I’m lovin’ it!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories