Posted by: Lauren | October 18, 2009

all fun but no recipes!

Hey guys! I’ve been a busy girl, thanking God for all kinds of good things this weekend. No new recipes though-we ate at Joe’s parents Wednesday, paninis Thursday, and out to eat Friday and Saturday night! And it looks like we’ll be going to Joe’s parents for dinner tonight too! Feeling spoiled. Plus that means practically no dishes have had to be washed lately (we don’t have a dishwasher, so that’s a huge treat), and I’ve gotten two meals out of each night out (leftovers for lunch). Soooo onto the fun!

Friday I subbed kindergarten in the morning by myself (all English speakers) and prekindergarten bilingual Spanish in the afternoon. Um, it was amazing and I want to speak fluent Spanish asap. These kids were so stinking cute and spoke in Spanish to me like crazy and I was like “uhh can a girl get a translator?” So I had this 4 year old girl who loved me and was just adorable be my translator a few times. There was a bilingual teacher in there too who was incredibly sweet and she led the class, so I just got to play with these kids for a couple hours. I was reading this picture book with a few girls and they pointed to a woman’s chest in the picture and said, “Chi chis!!!” and started giggling which made me crack up and they began to point to “chi chis” at the man, the dog, etc. (FYI Not sure of spelling, but it was pronounced “chee chee.” ) I said “No mas, no mas!” but I had a huge smile on my face and it was just hilarious. I’m sorry, but how do you not laugh at that? I told Joe the story and, naturally, he loved it.

Oh yeah so I only got a few hours of sleep the night before, so I started getting a headache Fri afternoon, which got really bad by the time I was home so after talking on the phone with a friend, I passed out for 3 hours until 7:50! Joe joined me for the siesta after he got home, and I freaked out when I woke up thinking I wasted my Friday night, but we still ended up going out to dinner and ran errands after. So it was all good.

Saturday morning we woke up for Joe’s football game and the sun was shining! They won again, go Red team! We came home, I did chores around the house while Joe cleaned out massive amounts of gunk and leaves out of the gutters, then put up spider webs because he is that cute.

IMG_3282

Oh yeah, you see that pumpkin to the left? I took this pic today, so I’ll get to that in just a second with the Saturday night recap.

After this festive decorating, Joe went on a run with me!! Despite having a bad hip that was already a little beat up with football that day, he went running with me and didn’t complain the whole time! I can’t tell you how encouraging this was. I was getting pretty tired of going by myself and hadn’t run lately, so spending that hour with him with the sun shining after weeks of cloudiness was a blessing. Plus, he totally pushed me! We were doing sprint intervals and it was so hard but he was like, “You can do it, Lauren! You’re almost there!” I really needed that too! I’m not in shape like that!

We went to Target and Home Deeps and we got some gardening tools so that I could plant some bulbs for the spring. I really hope they make it! My mom came over to help me this afternoon. Hopefully next spring they will look like this:

Tulips

Tulips

and this:

Hyacinth

Hyacinth

Saturday night we hung out at our friends’ house with Kody, Katie, Sarah, and Tim to carve pumpkins, eat, and have a bonfire. It was a blast with them! Here is what Joe carved:

IMG_3277

It’s Jasper! The boy has many talents. Me, not so much with the drawing and carving. But I like to scoop seeds and gunk out!

IMG_3257

Group shot of everyone and their pumpkins:

IMG_3275Around the bonfire:

Katie and Kody

Katie and Kody

Tim and Sarah

Tim and Sarah

Hus and I. Katie, thanks for the warm blanket!

Hus and I. Katie, thanks for the warm blanket!

Ending the weekend hanging with the two year olds this morning at church and teaching them that God protects them, great message at church, and some time on the homefront. Heading over to see Joe’s parents, sis Anna, and sis Lora and baby Madelyn soon!

I hope everyone had a great weekend!!!

Here’s the verse that was focused on this morning:

1 John 1: 5-9 “This is the message we heard from Jesus and now declare to you: God is light, and there is no darkness in him at all. So we are lying if we say we have fellowship with God but go on living in spiritual darkness; we are not practicing the truth. But if we are living in the light, as God is in the light, then we have fellowship with each other, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, cleanses us from all sin. If we claim we have no sin, we are only fooling ourselves and not living in the truth. But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness.”

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Love the chichis stories!!!! I can just see you with your big smiling saying “no mas, no mas.” It sounds like a fun day! Oh, and, Joe is so talented…….love Jasper, the cat! That’s awesome. Love and miss you!

    • I knew you would enjoy that story! 🙂 It was just too funny! Love and miss you tons!

  2. Love the spidy webs! Oh and as soon as I saw the pumpkin I was like “hey thats Jasper”! So glad u enjoyed subbing!

    • Thanks Keekers!

  3. Awww I haven’t carved a pumpkin in what feels like FOREVER!! Jealous!! I can’t wait to be back in the real world and have kiddies trick or treating in the neighborhood!

    • Yes my hubs and I are excited for our first year of passing out candy in our own home! Except…he’s been eating pretty much all of the Halloween candy!

  4. […] Last week I was outside in the yard, snapping some pictures of the flowers coming through (remember when I planted those bulbs in the fall?) All of this green, warmth, sunshine, and LIFE is so […]


Leave a Reply

Categories