Posted by: Lauren | October 14, 2009

more squash in this joint

Here is an EASY and quick dinner that I made the other night: smoked apple Chardonnay chicken sausage from Trader Joe’s, baked rosemary acorn squash, and balsamic roasted green beans.

IMG_3241

If you’re making a simple and fast dinner but want to make it a little more special, try serving on a fun plate (I got two of those plates at Target for $1.99 each-not a necessity, but it was a fun little home addition)… and light some candles! We LOVE candles and there are some awesome autumn smelling ones that are my favorite at Bath and Body Works right now for $5.

IMG_3243

The acorn squash seemed promising, but we thought it almost tasted too fruity or sweet…not our favorite squash.It was basically roasted with a little oil, balsamic, rosemary, salt, pepper, and dried minced onion.

My mom makes the best green beans-the beans are steamed then added to olive oil, balsamic, sliced red onions, and feta cheese. I did a variation in which I roasted the green beans in the oven at 375 for about 10 minutes with oil from my misto, salt, pepper, red onions and balsamic. Good way to get some green veggies.

Oh and that sausage is better with spicy brown mustard.

Last night we had our first young married gals community group/Bible study. What an encouraging and amazing time with these girls. We are going to do a Beth Moore study with the book of Daniel and I am so hungry and excited for some more wisdom, God working in me and teaching me more about Him. Not to mention I LOVE these ladies.

Here’s one of my favorite verses I was reminded of last nigth:

Philippians 4: 6,7 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Great idea about the plates!!!! Thanks for the inspiration re: your Bible study group! That verse from Phillipians is so maningful to me….great reminder when your heart is hurting. When I ask, He is there and I can feel Him. Love you!

    • Amen! I emailed you. Love and miss you!

  2. Made salmon spanks…SOOO GOOD!!! I cooked the fish first and then again in the cakes. Yummers, try them some time!!

    • Awesome! I will!


Leave a Reply

Categories