Posted by: Lauren | October 11, 2009

chicken dinner

Hey hey hey! We had friends over last night to have dinner and play games–games never happened though-what’s up with that?! Oh yeah, we got sidetracked when we put on the wedding highlights video! 😉 We meant to take a photo all together and I totally forgot!

I made Balsamic Glazed Chicken, Garlicky Baked Butternut Squash, Roasted Broccoli, and Garlic Pita Wedges. Dessert was Symphony Brownies and ice cream. The past two days I’ve been craving sweets more than the beginning of the week of the sugar free challenge. I haven’t caved though but I’m really ready to have some chocolate.

Honey Balsamic Glazed Chicken

IMG_3230

This was a recipe I’ve made for a couple years now but haven’t had it in awhile. I didn’t measure last night though, you can really just eyeball it. Cook chicken that has salt and pepper on both sides in a little olive oil or with cooking spray. In a cup I mixed a spoonful of honey with probably a 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar and 4 cubes of basil (4 tsp fresh). Pour over chicken and let simmer for just a minute.

Garlicky Baked Butternut Squash

IMG_3228

I found this recipe at Angela’s blog here and this is a must try recipe! Even if you don’t like squash, try this. I adapted it just barely. I was basically eating it for dessert.

1 large butternut squash, peeled, and cubed (1 in.)

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 t salt

1/2- 3/4 t pepper

2 T olive oil

2 T chopped fresh parsley

~1/4 c romano cheese (recipe called for 1/3 cup parmesan)

Preheat oven to 400* F. Combine parsley, olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic in a large bowl. Add squash and toss to coat. Bake for 50 minutes or until tender in an ungreased 13×9 pan. I added just a sprinkling of romano cheese at the end, but I think her recipe had it baked on there. Try this!!

Roasted Broccoli

IMG_3231

My fave way to eat broccoli. Spray cookie sheet with oil, cut up fresh broccoli florets, spray again on top of broccoli, sprinkle freshly ground salt and pepper on top. Cover with aluminum foil and bake at 375 or 400 for about 15-20 minutes.

Brownies are unpictured-just a box mix with a symphony bar crumbled on top!

As I’ve been craving sweets today, I made this:

IMG_3232

Pumpkin “Ice Cream.” So yummy! It was just frozen banana, splash of milk, scoop of pumpkin, blended in blender. Topped with pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon.

IMG_3233DELISH!

Another amazing message at church today. Romans 5:6-8 “You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Love that you added pumpkin to the banana ice cream concept!! What a great idea!

    Sadski about your broken almond butter jar 😦 No worries though. I bet that was annoying to clean up!!!!

    • The “ice cream” was really yummy! Fortunately, I grabbed the jar before the almond butter started oozing out and Joe immediately grabbed a broom and then the vacuum so I got out of clean up duty!! I’m going to TJ’s tomorrow after work so if I make the granola I’ll pass the recipe your way, even though it’s not for the contest!

  2. This was a excellent dinner. Lets have it again soon please. Minus broccoli.

    • Oh boy do I love you so much

  3. […] in fact, none of her recipes have. I’ve made her Better-Than-Bottled Balsamic vinaigrette, and Garlicky Baked Butternut Squash multiple times. She has such creative, simple, delicious, and healthy recipes. Click on her link to […]

  4. […] Amazing butternut squash-very similar recipe can be found here […]


Leave a Reply

Categories