Posted by: Lauren | October 8, 2009

spaghetti squash success

Here’s a frugal, vegetarian, filling, and delicious recipe! Go here for more frugal recipes. I bought a spaghetti squash the other day and wasn’t sure quite how I would use it. So I made an easy sauce to go on top (my confidence for not following recipes has gone way up). So, here’s a healthier version of spaghetti…

IMG_3220

Spaghetti Squash with Spicy Chickpea Tomato Sauce

Note: The sauce was just slightly spicy but so tasty-don’t be afraid to use the red pepper flakes.

1 spaghetti squash

2 T olive oil

1 onion, diced

several baby carrots or one large carrot, diced

3 cloves of garlic

2 t basil

28 oz. can of pureed tomatoes

1 can of garbanzo/chickpeas

¼ t red pepper flakes

sea salt

freshly ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Poke some holes in the spaghetti squash with a fork and place on baking sheet. Bake for 60-75 minutes (depending on the size of your squash).

Saute onion and carrots in oil for 15 minutes. Add garlic and basil (I love these frozen cubes from TJ’s):

IMG_3219

Add tomato puree and rest of ingredients. Simmer on low while squash is cooking.

Once squash is done, cut in half, scoop out seeds and gook, and use a fork to make it like spaghetti.

Serve with sauce, fresh parsley, and romano cheese. Yum!

Really yummy and filling!

Really yummy and filling!

The book of Philippians has always been a fave of mine. Paul was filled with joy-Christ’s joy- despite being in really harsh circumstances. I want that kind of attitude no matter what challenges come my way or fill my thoughts.

Phil. 4:8 “And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.”

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. I’ve never seen those cubes before–what are they!? I see basil but the cubes are yellow…?

    The spaghetti squash looks perfect! Great job!

    • The yellow cubes are garlic! They make it so easy!!

  2. Hey Lauren! I am going to try this. A neighbor gave me a spaghetti squash and I didn’t know what to do with it! I love reading your blog.

    • Hi Elaine! Oh I’m so glad! Hope you guys enjoy it!

  3. Amazing recipe! But I love chickpeas in everything! So you like the Dorot cubes? I’ve seen them at TJ”s but haven’t tried them yet. Do they taste like the real thing?

    • Yes they are wonderful! Makes it so easy, quick (since you don’t have to chop), and they taste great!

  4. […] had this butternut squash with spicy chickpea tomato sauce on the blog before, but it’s just so yummy and good for ya, I had to put it on again. Butternut […]


Leave a Reply

Categories