Posted by: Lauren | October 5, 2009

stuffed peppers

What a gorgeous day! Then Mr. Tom Skilling had to inform me that this weekend will be practically freezing, cloudy, and rainy. I guess it makes doing fall things cozy, right? It also justifies a nap more than when it’s nice out. Just sayin.

I went for a long run today after work with some walking at the beginning, end, and mixed in when my shins and knees were just aching. Once again, I just started running too early and too fast at the beginning. I was running along these cornfields and I’m pretty convinced there was some kind of critter running alongside me for a little while.

Remember how I said we never really have red meat? Well we did tonight! I found a good brand that doesn’t have antibiotics or hormones on sale at Super Target last week and froze it. I took it out when I got back from my run and to help thaw it a little I placed it here:

IMG_3194

Yeah, our kitchen floor. When Joe was renovating the house he put in these floor heaters in part of the bathroom and kitchen under the tile since our house is on a cement slab and it gets so cold in the winter! It also helps heat the house. But mostly it’s nice to my feet-those are mine in the picture.

So anyway…I made stuffed peppers! I was happy to create my own recipe. I definitely enjoy finding recipes to try but it is so satisfying to just create something of my own–which is what my mom ALWAYS does and is an incredible cook. Which, by the way, I’m kicking myself that I didn’t get a photo of her AMAZING butternut squash soup from yesterday.

Stuffed Peppers

IMG_3197I cut the tops off the two peppers and cut up the little leftover pepper part to go in the filling. I microwaved the peppers for five minutes to get them nice and tender. In a skillet put in leftover pepper, stalk of celery, onion, and mushrooms. Add one pound of ground beef (I used 92% lean).

Once cooked, I added two cloves of garlic, a generous sprinkle of Italian seasoning, freshly ground salt and pepper, tomato paste, and organic ketchup.

Scoop into peppers, top with reduced fat cheese, and pop under broiler. We thought they were tasty!

So far, day one of the Sugar Free Challenge from The Nourishing Gourmet is going well! I haven’t had any sweet treats, but unfortuntaly sugar is added to a lot of stuff! Like TJ’s bbq sauce and organic ketchup (not to mention nasty high fructose corn syrup in regular ketchup and bbq sauce). So it looks like I had some with my leftover veggie stir fry from lunch and a little in the stuffed peppers with the ketchup.  It’s all good though! I did enjoy fruit today and some greek chobani yogurt that had a little honey in it, so I’m getting some sweetness in my life 😉 I know it may not be hard for some to not have chocolate or sweets, but for me, it’s a challenge!

Ephesians 3: 16-20 (I treasure these verses) “I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God. Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.”

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Floor heaters!? What a great idea! It’s like seat warmers in the car–one of my friends had those and it felt so toasty in the wintertime! Yummy looking stuffed peppers you got there!

    • I love getting in cars that have them-mine unfortunately does not!

  2. i wish i had a reason to have floor heaters- unfortunately floridians do not 😦 booo! those stuffed peppers look DELISH! good job on the sf challange so far!

    • Trust me, when the temps drop down to -20 degrees, everyone wishes they lived in Florida!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories