Posted by: Lauren | September 30, 2009

my love for pumpkin

Thanks to Kim, I finally got my hands on some cans of pumpkin! I’ve been looking everywhere and she told me to got to Meijer so I bought four regular cans, and one jumbo. Stocking up, my friends. I made a pumpkin cake for Joe’s bday last night:

IMG_3149

Mmmm pumpkin is such a perfect food. I LOVED celebrating Joe’s bday for the first time as husband and wife! We went to his parents for dinner with the fam and had amazing burrito bowls with all kinds of fixings. His sweet parents sent us home with guac and Chili’s chips and salsa-thank you M&D B.!

After Joe opened his presents he wrapped up sweet Madelyn like the little gift that she is:

She is so cute! Don't worry, the tissue paper was promptly removed

She is so cute! Don't worry, the tissue paper was promptly removed

So to continue my love for pumpkin, this morning I made…

IMG_3151Pumpkin Cake Oat Bran

<1/4 cup oat bran

3/4 cup water

Dash of salt

Microwave for 1.5 mins. Add pumpkin pie spice. Microwave for another 30 seconds.

Add a big spoonful of pumkin and stir. Then I topped mine with pecans and a teeny tiny bit of  leftover homemade cream cheese frosting! Whoa!

For the first time today I had okra fries! I have seen them around on some blogs and when I spotted okra for CHEAP at Caputo’s, I grabbed a big bag.

IMG_3155Baked in the toaster oven at 375* for 20 minutes with salt and pepper and some oil out of the misto. Try it!!

Today was the day of many firsts: pumpkin oat bran, okra, and using my crockpot!

I made this Crockpot Chicken and Quinoa recipe that you can find here. The only changes I made were that I used 3 chicken breasts, added mushrooms, and pepper when served. So easy and made the house smell really good.

IMG_3163

Then for dessert I had another first: Plain Greek yogurt, unsweetened organic apple sauce, pumpkin, and pumpkin pie spice!

IMG_3165

Wow! Really good! I love trying new healthy foods/combos and really liking them!

In other random news: I’m going to try this challenge from The Nourishing Gourmet from Oct. 5th-12th. This is the blog that I got the crockpot recipe and butternut squash fries recipe from, and she has many other amazing recipes and health info. Anyways the challenge is to eliminate sugar from our diet for a week. As much as I do like to eat healthy foods, I have a GIANT sweet tooth. Even when I make sweet recipes or eat sweet foods with whole wheat flour, organic sugar, dark chocolate etc. It is still way too much sugar when I enjoy sweets everyday. I’m trying for the beginner/ really more moderate level (there are 3 levels to the challenge). I do have stevia in my coffee so that’s why I was looking at the beginning level, but I also want to not give in to the many late night sweets cravings, and really try to not have dark chocolate. This is going to be really hard for me, but I know it would help in all areas of my health. Anyone want to join me? I just told Joe, and he said with a sad voice, “I don’t want to join it.” Oh. well that’s nice! Aaaaand he just went to get some ice cream from the freezer. That’s my Joe!

Another, more important challenge to me: “Imitate God, therefore, in everything you do, because you are his dear children. Live a life filled with love, following the example of Christ. He loved us and offered himself as a sacrifice for us, a pleasing aroma to God.” Ephesians 5: 1,2

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Love the pumpkin love in this post! I love pumpkin!

  2. Love reading your posts. You are inspiring to me!

    • Aww that means so much to me! Warm fuzzies! 🙂

  3. yum! all of these eats look deeeelish! pumpkin rockkkkkkkks!

  4. wow that pumpkin cake oat bran sure does sound delicious 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories