Posted by: Lauren | September 27, 2009

breakfast for dinner

Hi guys! I’m blogging from my new favorite spot in the house:

IMG_3105Yeah we got our new couch finally! Oh and that massive glow is our lamp. Those are my softball sweatpants from freshman year of high school. They are awesome. This thing is so comfy and I took a LONG nap on it earlier today. I worked yesterday and today and was up at 5 am today so when I got home from nannying Joe and I walked to get lunch (got done early!) then I came back and crashed. I also think I might be getting a cold as baby C was sneezing and coughing on me today (I literally got sprayed on the face!). Hopefully we’ll both be 100% soon and I’m prayin Joe doesn’t get sick!

I got up from my nap to take a shower and asked Joe if he would want to make dinner…specifically breakfast for dinner. I’m so grateful for him. I don’t mean to make it sound like we have some perfect marriage, because we don’t, but my goodness, God loves us through each other and that is a GOOD thing. I’m also so thankful for the way Jesus forgives us for when we don’t treat each other the way we should and get all selfish and stuff. So with all that said-it’s Joe’s birthday on Tuesday!!! We’re going to celebrate big in the Chi this weekend, me thinks. Yea!

So, Joe baked french toast with cinnamon (so yummy), scrambled eggs with spinach, and Trader Joe’s apple chicken sausage-I love those things!

IMG_3101

Joe called these “chicken lincoln logs.”

IMG_3097

We went to church last night with some friends-the service was amazing and I will link up the video for it once it’s up. Then we went to our friends house where they treated us to a yummy dinner at their house! We stayed pretty late even though I had to be up early and had such a great time with them.

If you guys haven’t ever read the translation of the Bible called “The Message,” I really suggest it. It was translated from Greek and Hebrew into contemporary English language and I personally like reading different translations of the Bible. They say the same thing, just in a different way. There were 2 couch delivery guys at our house yesterday and one saw it on the table and was like “Oh have you read this?” I said, “Well, I”m reading it.” and he basically said that he actually thought it was that “The Secret” book that is supposed to “change lives.” I told him, oh this book changed my life alright. It turned into  a really cool conversation with these two guys about Jesus and the church and I hope God will just show them His incredible love through Christ and that all can have a real and true relationship with God through Jesus.

I know some can’t stand hearing other people share their faith, it’s just how can you hear life-saving, eternity-changing, GOOD NEWS and not share it with others? How do I experience total forgiveness and an unwavering love and yet all too often I’m quiet about it because I care about what others think and don’t want to step on their toes?? Not any good thing I do could get me closer to Heaven. It was only by asking Jesus to be washed clean, believing that He is the Son of God and asking Him to be the Lord of my life. That is GOOD.

“Since we’ve compiled this long and sorry record as sinners and proved that we are utterly incapable of living the glorious lives God wills for us, God did it for us. Out of sheer generosity he puts us in right standing with himself. A pure gift. He got us out of the mess we’re in and restored us to where he always wanted us to be. And he did it by means of Jesus Christ. God sacrificed Jesus on the altar of the world to clear that world of sin. Having faith in him sets us in the clear.” Romans 3: 23-25

If you’ve never read the Bible, I’m not exaggerating when I say it completely changed my life. If you want one, let me know!

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. No shame in loving your hubby and having a great marriage!! I LOVE my high school sweats..I hope I can wear them forever or at least until my [non-existent] children are in high school and I can get some from them 🙂

  2. I have the message 🙂

  3. Love the new comfy couch! Now you can enjoy “snuggle time” with Joe like I do with Uncle Ri-Ri…….only we have a tiny couch for his daddy long legs. Those chicken sausages look yummy….have to make another trip to TJs. Happy belated b-day to Joe….give him a huggy for me. Love you both!

    • We are sooo enjoying the couch! Yes, you have to get the apple chicken sausages! Give Uncle Ri Ri a hug for me! We love you guys!


Leave a Reply

Categories