Posted by: Lauren | September 21, 2009

eggplant parm

Well, it was really eggplant romano. Joe has a weird dislike for parmesan, and freakishly can tell the difference between parm and romano in recipes…and the smell. I don’t think I can tell the diff, and I’m the Italian one?! So I wasn’t quite sure how this would go, knowing that I had my Mom’s most perfect eggplant parm to live up to…but we really liked it! Joe said it was perfect, but he’s my husband. Still, not as good as yours, Mom! (I’m really not just saying that.)

So here it is folks:

Eggplant Parmesan Romano

IMG_30872 medium sized eggplants

2 eggs

maybe 1 cup flour

salt

pepper

lots of olive oil

1 jar pasta sauce (I used chunky garden)

Package of mozzarella slices

Grated romano (or parm!)

The how to:

1. Cut eggplant into about 1/4 in. slices and dredge in egg and flour-that has some salt and pepper in it. Put a few good glugs of olive oil in a pan, and let heat over medium. The slices take a few minutes per side. I can tell their ready when they’re nice and soft and lightly browned.You’re obviously not going to fit all the slices in the pan at once, so keep adding oil after each batch is done, and reminding yourself, “Olive oil is ‘good fat.'”

2. Layer pasta sauce in a 13×9 pan. Place cooked eggplant slices on top of sauce, sprinkle with romano, and layer mozzarella slices (or you could use shredded). Spoon more sauce on top of that, and continue layers. You’re final layer will be eggplant, romano, SAUCE (I forgot, and tried to go back and pick up the mozz slices!), then mozzarella-so the mozzarella can brown all nice in the oven.

3. Bake at 350 degrees F for about 15 minutes (until cheese is melted, bubbly, and totally appetizing.)

I served ours with a huge salad of spinach, carrots, sugar snap peas, apple, and yummy Tuscan Italian dressing from TJ’s.

IMG_3089

While writing this post, I consumed a large amount of this:

IMG_3090

Vanilla instant pudding from Trader Joe’s! Wha?! I swiped it from the shelf for Joe (I paid for it), and of course had to try it. So I have a love/hate thing with instant pudding. Love the creamy, sweet factor/hate the aftertaste and nastay ingredients in those boxes. Seriously, have you ever noticed the funky aftertaste and read the ingredients on the ol’ Jello box? Yikes. That’s all I’m going to say. TJ’s was tasty, still had a bit of an aftertaste, and far from perfect ingredients, unfortunately. Joe gave it an 8 out of 10.

We’re off to walk to the library. We’re totally hip and cool.

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Mmmmmm……Laur, your Eggplant “Roman” looks delish!!! Good goin’ girl!!! Yo mama would be proud…..holla on her b-day!!! I’m with ya on the pudding…..of course, I don’t like anything with that funny texture….like sour cream, yogurt etc. Love and miss you! Aunt Sharon

    • That’s so funny I knew you weren’t a fan of sour cream, but I didn’t know it was b/c of the texture! I actually like those smooooth things, but I like when there are other things added-like yogurt with some fruit and crunchiness. Or just straight up smooth. Either one! 😉 Love you tons and tons!

  2. If you just found my blog than you have NO IDEA the extent of my obsession with eggplant!!! Your post totally made my night. Thanks for the comment on my blog. I’m lookin’ forward to reading more from you and getting to know you!

    • I’m so glad you found some eggplant over here!! I loved reading some posts in your blog. I’m still kind of a newbie at this all but it is so fun! 🙂

  3. Loooove the eggplant!

    • Isn’t it one great veggie?! Thanks for stopping by the blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories