Posted by: Lauren | September 14, 2009

free food

IMG_3013

I once again took advantage of free food and made venison burgers. I think it’s a mix of ground venison and beef (from Sam), and I just mixed it with an egg, salt and pepper and cooked in a tiny bit of oil on the skillet (no grill yet!). Meanwhile I caramelized onions in some olive oil. Then we topped the burgs with muenster (or monster) cheese, caramelized onions, and TJ’s bbq sauce (the best). Joe also had an extra topping-I had some bits of meat stuck on the pan so I put a good glug of red wine in the pan, let it reduce, and Joe was eager to have it on his burger. I love that man. Caramelized onions are so yummy, and did you know how good onions and garlic are for you?! Quick nutrition fact: They’re in the allium family and are powerful detoxers for your bod-destroying free radicals and lowering bad cholesterol. Like Rachael Ray says, 2 garlic or onion eaters cancel each other out, so bring on the garlic and onions. We had the burgers bunless since what I planned on using had some nice green stuff growing on it. Lovely.

IMG_3012

I also roasted potatoes with minced onion, garlic powder, paprika, salt, pepper, olive oil. 425 degrees. 25 minutes. Flip half way. IMG_3006

By the way, I still haven’t done anything with those Macs. Any good recipes to use those apples? Except pie. No offense.

“God delivers generous love, he makes good on his word.” Psalm 57:3

xoxo

Lauren

Leave a Reply

Categories