Posted by: Lauren | September 11, 2009

disappearing veggies

Have you ever made spinach and watched it turn from a HUGE amount to nothing, in about 30 seconds?

IMG_2992On Thursday night I sauteed 2 cloves of garlic (amazing frozen cubes from TJ’s) in olive oil and added spinach. Then it turned to this:

IMG_2994I tried just a bite…holy garlic!…and gave it to Joe. He liked it a lot, me not so much.

However, we both loved these:

IMG_2995These sweet potato fries do a little disappearing act too as they roast in the oven. The pan was packed when it went in, and then they just shrink on ya. I’ve always loved sweet potato fries, but I’m not gonna lie, these were some of the best I’ve ever had.

Sweet Potato Fries

Preheat oven to 425. Toss fries (leave skins on) with about a tablespoon of olive oil. Sprinkle with freshly ground salt and pepper. Then sprinkle with cinnamon! Bake for about 20-25 minutes, flipping them with a big spatuala halfway.

Not pictured: Fish sticks. When was the last time I had fish sticks? Maybe when I was 5? Whatever, they were pretty tasty. We saw them at TJ’s and got a box for Joe when he is snackish after work. We decided to just have them for dinner.

Also not pictured: the giant bag of spinach that was dirt cheap from Caputo’s. I’ve been making so many delcious green goodness drinks. And for the first time today I had green oats!

If you haven’t tried them, you must. Right now. Here’s how I made mine:

Green Oats

First microwave, (or stovetop if you have patience):

1/8 cup dry oat bran (I can’t finish 1/4 cup!)

1/4 cup water and 1/4 organic vanilla soy milk…wait did I even tell you about the organic soy milk from Target that was on clearance for $1.84?! I thought it was worthy of a picture…

IMG_2958Don’t judge because: a. I bought clearanced soy milk or b. I took a picture of it.

The expiration date wasn’t until November, so I thought it was all good! And it is! I try to use it sparingly and don’t buy soy milk a lot what with the controversy of soy and making estrogen go all crazy. Another post, another day.

Back to the recipe!

-Blend a huge handful of spinach with another splash of soy milk in blender

-Add to cooked oat bran and stir

-Top with cinnamon, banana and scoop of peanut butter (I did crunchy)

2996This pic was taken with my phone. Joe retrieved it with his new netbook he got from his work. It’s a tiny laptop which makes it pretty cute.

Joe and I both happen to be working on Saturday. Enjoy your weekend!

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. I’m curious do you taste the spinach? I have really been loving spinach lately, but I don’t know about in the morning. Tell Cam I said holla!

  2. No you don’t taste the spinach! I think it could actually make it a little sweeter? Try it yo!


Leave a Reply

Categories