Posted by: Lauren | September 8, 2009

i’m back…with more butts

butternut squash that is…muah hah ha.

Like this:

IMG_2899Roasted butternut squash bowls filled with meat and veggies(that’s a really long recipe name…some help?)

I cut a butternut squash in half, seeded both sides, poured a little olive oil on cut side, and layed them on a baking sheet cut side down. 375 for around 30 minutes.

Meanwhile…in a skillet I sauteed onions and garlic in olive oil, with diced tomatoes, and shredded zucchini. Then I added some ground deer/beef that my bro in law Sam gave us. Thanks for all the free food Sam!! (Seriously, so many garden veggies and free meat?!) Then I added some spices (chili powder, all purpose seasoning, salt and pepper), wishing I had tomato paste to make a saucy.

After the squash was done, I cut it so we had the bowls, sprinkled with salt and pepper, and poured the meat mixture in! I really wished it was “saucier” so we put ketchup all over-classy! It really made it yummy, though. Side salad of spinach, garden maters, and balsamic.

I’m so glad to hear so many of you are trying the squash fries and enjoying them! I love finding new recipes that are healthy, easy, and yummy.

Here are some weekend activities:

IMG_2924Apple picking! Either Joe is chewing an apple, or is in pain of some sort. We were bummed though when we got off the hay ride and learned all they had left on the trees/ripe for now was Macintosh! Those are probably my least favorite (tied with Granny Smith), but both those make tasty treats. I’m sure you’ll see an apple crisp and some apple sauce around here in the near future.

IMG_2915

Sarah, Tim, Sam, Katie

Joe’s sister Emily came in town to see the new babe. I love when she’s in town-we miss her!

Emily holding Madelyn and Anna

Emily holding Madelyn and Anna

We can’t wait to meet our nephew who will arrive in January!

IMG_2910

A photo I took of Maddie’s foot with Lora and Brandon’s rings. Tiiiiny foot!

I’ll leave you with another something amazingly sweet:

Coconut Chocolate Chip Bars

Coconut Chocolate Chip Bars

Ok, these are ridiculously good. I had a bite that my new friend Sarah made at Katie’s house and she was so sweet to give me the recipe. I didn’t have shredded coconut, so I thought I would swap out the butter for coconut oil. I also used whole wheat flour with major success! These are so easy and quick too!

Coconut Chocolate Chip Bars

1/2 c. coconut oil

1/3 c sugar

1/3 c brown sugar (didn’t have so I just used sucanat)

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 c unbleached all purpose flour

3/4 c whole wheat flour

1 c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375. Mix all ingredients together in large bowl. Spread onto greased 9 x13 pan. I baked for only 12 minutes and they were perfect. Depending on oven 10-20 minutes.

I won’t even show you what the pan looks like right now. Joe is not a big chocolate fan, but he was like “Mmm I could see if someone loved chocolate how they would like these…can you make them without chocolate?” Then he went back for like 3 more HUGE pieces! Poor guy didn’t get home from work and a side job until 9:30. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Which is when I finally retrieved the camera! P.S. I burnt the granola I was making today, so this definitely made up for it.

Romans 12:1-2

“Take your everyday, ordinary life-your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking around life-and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. ” The Message

“And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice-the kind he will accept. When you think of what he has done for you, is this too much to ask? Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will know what God wants you to do, and you will know how good and pleasing and perfect his will really is.” New Living Translation

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Hi Lauren!

    So glad you advertised your blog on FB ๐Ÿ™‚ I have the day off today so I had the time to read all your fun posts and enjoy your recipes and pictures!! LOVE that darling niece of yours, and love seeing all the yummy food you are making…it might just inspire me to make something other than my standard 10 recipes ๐Ÿ˜‰ So glad to see photos of your beautiful home as well…you and Joe are SO blessed! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope to see you soon….

    xoxo Shana

    • Thanks Shana!! God is good, I’m reminded of that constantly. I miss our wedding planning dates. You, my mom, and I should still get together for coffee or something just for fun ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy your day off!

  2. […] Doesnโ€™t happen all the time, you know? As in, I usually want to polish off an entire pan of my Coconut Chocolate Chip cookie bars. Oh wait, I have done that. Ok, not in one sitting, but it wasnโ€™t good […]


Leave a Reply

Categories