Posted by: Lauren | August 13, 2009

big bowl. full tummy.

IMG_2633Here was my brekkie today. The past few days I have been trying oatbran. Ok, extremely filling, keeps you full for HOURS, and yummy. This will be perfect for winter. Usually in the summer I’ve been having my smoothies, but they really don’t keep me full for that long. Neither does a packet of oatmeal. Lame. So here’s the scoop:

1/4 oatbran (dry)

1 cup liquid (Today I did 1/2 almond milk, 1/2 water…unneccessary, just use water)

Cinnamon

So I put those ingredients in a bowl to microwave. Not an ordinary bowl. I’ve learned my lesson about that one. Two days in a row that oatbran morphed out of that regular ol’ bowl like the goop in Ghostbusters. The second day I did it for less time in the micro, and still, out it poured. So, the past two days, it’s been in a large glass Pyrex bowl. Perfect.

So once it’s cooked, I add

slices of nanner

today I added apple

more cinnamon

and the best part: a big scoop of TJ’s creamy peanut butter. Take a look see…IMG_2635

Some of my favorite things in the kitchen: Santoku knife, cutting board, and peanut butter.

I have yet been able to finish these oatbran concotions. See what I mean?IMG_2636I think if I was working out before maybe I could finish. But nope. My exercise has consisted of walks. It’s been wonderful. Sometimes some push ups. I’m thinking more about yoga, but I have never really been able to get into it. We’ll see…

This verse was in my journal today (given to me from my sweet Aunt Sharon):

“In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.” Proverbs 16:9

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. oh u crack me up, u are seriously hilarious! okay a few thoughts – 1) add some serious protein to your smoothies this summer b4 time runs out! Barb even adds half an avocado to add some serious smoothiness and boost! šŸ™‚ you’ll love it. 2) love oat bran, definitely recommend trying millet too! check that out for sure!
    3) caution: sometimes our hunger subsides when we don’t work out enough b/c our thyroids slow – not good. eat frequently to avoid any concerns w/ that – although I know u take ridiculously good care of yourself so like i need to tell u that – but now u know. as you work out hard your thyroid works hard and that’s good and sometimes your hunger goes up. as u do less of both your thyroid can subside it’s muscles which can be a little problematic. you are wise – i have no doubts!
    4) go start a school for sure!
    5) your comments about joe and soddering pipes asking to go on your blog – hilarious!
    u are a heaping scoop of joy, your love is contagious and DOES point to jesus w/o doubt!


Leave a Reply

Categories