Posted by: Lauren | November 28, 2011

dinner and baked goods recipes

Thank you all SO MUCH for your sweet comments from my last post. Gives me warm fuzzies. :)

I have several winning recipe links to share with you! Most are for dinner, but I have a few sweet ones as well. I’ve been using Google Documents to create a meal plan each week, which has been great! Meals definitely get changed around, but I love linking the recipes all in one place, making notes of of the groceries I need, or what needs to be taken out of the freezer to defrost, etc. Weekends are always pretty up in the air, so I don’t usually plan those meals.

Here is an example week:

Menu Plan 11.7-11.11
Monday: Turkey Oat Burgers with roasted brussel sprouts
Go to: TRADER JOE’S
Tuesday: Tempeh Tamale Pie
*Need 8 oz pkg tempeh, unsweetened apple sauce
Wednesday: Leftovers
Thursday: Butternut squash ravioli soup, bread, salad
*Defrost chicken thighs for tomorrow
Friday: General Tso’s Chicken with brown rice and broccoli

Please excuse some of these horrible pictures!

Slow Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala with brown basmati rice and peas

IMG_9047

This dish was fantastic. Changes for next time: I would bump up the spices just a smidge, but it was still totally delicious as is. Also, I didn’t add as much heavy cream, and didn’t miss it.

Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie

I don’t have a picture, but Joe and I loved this, as did my sister-in-law and nephew. :) I didn’t have celery, so I just threw in some yellow squash I had to bulk up the veggies. I love how you could easily add in whatever vegetables you have on hand. This is a comforting, healthy, delicious meal-in-one. Changes for next time:I probably wouldn’t add any salt next time as my Worcestershire and tomato sauce already had in.

Turkey Oat Burgers with roasted brussel sprouts

IMG_5861 

This is an old picture, but we LOVE these burgers! Tip: my salsa used in the burgers (fire roasted from Trader Joe’s) is sodium-free, so if yours has salt, you will want to cut back on the added salt.

General Tso’s Chicken with brown rice and broccoli

IMG_9080

Yummy recipe, but I would maybe pick this next one instead if you’re wanting some Chinese…

Mongolian Beef with stir fry veggies or broccoli, and brown rice

IMG_9171

This was SO SO GOOD and really easy! I loved the little bit of spicy kick in there. My grocery store had really expensive flank steak for some reason, so I used thin top round steak and it was great. Changes: NONE! I will be making this again. Although, I bet this would also be good with chicken-the sauce was great.

Tips: 1. Don’t overcook your meat. I made a conscious effort not to, and am so glad I didn’t.

2. I love Trader Joe’s frozen brown rice that you can microwave for 3 minutes-makes dinner come together so fast.

3. I roasted a bag of frozen broccoli florets in my toaster/convection oven at 425 degrees for about 20 minutes with a mist of oil, and sprinkle of sea salt and pepper. That’s how I make most of our veggies and we love it.

—-

Zuppa Tuscana with toasted whole grain artisan bread.

IMG_9085

Comforting Italian soup with kale, potatoes, turkey sausage, and bacon. I liked how it is creamy but not incredibly thick and heavy. Changes: I liked this even more when I added a lot of black pepper.

Scalloped Hasselback Potatoes

IMG_9008

These potatoes are ridiculously good (and very filling!), especially topped with some creamy organic sour cream. And yes, we eat roasted broccoli a lot.

Baked Goods

Pumpkin Donut Holes

IMG_8544

I think I’ve made these three times now for different little parties and such. They are always a huge hit!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Craisin Cookies

IMG_9086

Oatmeal chocolate chip craisin cookies are some of my favorite cookies, so I love that these have pumpkin in them because it makes them healthier-hello, it’s a vegetable! They were so easy to make and deliciously chewy.  Also, I was able to get way more than 3 dozen good sized cookies out of this recipe.

IMG_7914

Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 4 small(ish) very ripe bananas
  • splash of milk (2 Tbsp)
  • 1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease muffin pans or line with papers.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar until thoroughly blended. In a separate bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

Add the vanilla extract and egg to the butter and sugar and beat together on medium speed. Slowly add the flour mixture and beat until smooth. Stir in chocolate chips.

Spoon batter into 12 muffin cups and bake for 15-17 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean and dry. Remove from oven and allow to cool in pan for a few minutes before turning out to cool on a cooling rack.

IMG_7913

I love that these are whole wheat yet incredibly moist. 

IMG_7484 

I hope you all enjoy these recipes as much as we have!

Psalm 28:7 The Lord is my strength and shield.
      I trust him with all my heart.
   He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy.
      I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Thanks for the shout out and thanks even more for the tasty meal ideas!!!

    • Thank YOU for the amazing recipe! Im bummed I didn’t have a picture-I.think it was one of those nights I was just too excited to eat!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.