Posted by: Lauren | April 20, 2011

manaus, brazil part dois

So I left off on Wednesday. We visited a pastor’s conference going on at a retreat center out in the country. When we were driving up we saw the dirt road was totally flooded. Funny thing: I never really felt that nervous when driving around in this van that would drive at crazy speeds with cars coming from all directions in the city….yet I got a little nervous when I thought we’d get stuck in the mud. We didn’t. Phew.

IMG_6621

IMG_6667IMG_6622 IMG_6624 IMG_6625

This little baby was so cute! He liked playing with the buttons on my camera. He almost deleted a picture, so then I let him play with the buttons with the camera off. Smart, eh?IMG_6626 IMG_6631 IMG_6637 IMG_6641 IMG_6659 IMG_6661 IMG_6663 IMG_6665

This, my friends, is some of the best fish I’ve ever had. The women who cooked this are incredibly talented, and I guess one (or more) of them cook on the boat too when teams go out on the Amazon. The beans, the rice, oh so good. And that salad in the back was crunchy and fresh and so flavorful.

IMG_6721

We walked down to the boat that teams from the church in Manaus as well as teams from Christ Community Church here in IL go on to serve the people in the villages along the Amazon. It’s so cool what they do on these trips: medical and dental care and sharing Christ’s love and Truth. The boat is actually expanding to include more space like the rooms for delivering babies!

IMG_6671

Here Pastor Djard is telling us about the boat—the one all the way to the left. Oops I didn’t really get shot!

IMG_6673

These are Joe’s artsy photos :)IMG_6680  IMG_6690

IMG_6685

^Translation: “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

IMG_6702 IMG_6709 IMG_6710

IMG_6682

CCC family: Our church purchased that speedboat!

IMG_6714

IMG_6719

—–

I realize I haven’t really had any pictures from the English Institutes, and that would be because I didn’t really take that many! We were always having conversations, or playing games, making bracelets, or singing songs. But that is where we spent the most amount of our time.

After the retreat, we headed off to Influx, one of the English Institutes where I did take a few pics!

IMG_6722 IMG_6724

The bracelets!

IMG_6725

Our teacher, Cris, wrote down the yummy Brazilian food we needed to try. And eventually we did. Oh yes we did. More on that later. Can I also just say how I’m thankful for facebook still keeping us all connected? Cris, if you’re reading this, hi!! We want to come back! :)

IMG_6727

IMG_6729

Cory found Little Lizzie outside. Nice pic Joe!

IMG_6732

Ok, so that was Wednesday! I’ll be back with more!

“When Jesus heard what had happened, he withdrew by boat privately to a solitary place. Hearing of this, the crowds followed him on foot from the towns. When Jesus landed and saw a large crowd, he had compassion on them and healed their sick.” Matthew 12:13-14

Guys, if you read anything from my blog, read the Truth at the end. Best part.

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. Lauren! I just caught up on both your Brazil posts. My goodness…you took such beautiful photos there! Breathtaking. I hope I get a chance to visit one day. I want to hug each and every one of those kiddies. Tell Joe and your fam I say HI!

  2. Wow, you captured SO MANY beautiful moments! Okay, so the two little babies hugging (well I guess they’re toddlers) is just precious! The little guy that played w/ your camera was sooooo cute playing w/ Joe’s bracelet. Little yumsicle! Also, the one of the little baby b/w the interpreters is just such a great shot and depicts the innocence of such tiiiiiiny people. Okay, so what prompted me to get on your site today was that my friends in Raleigh took me to this fabulous middle east deli yesterday. I had baba ganoush for the first time. After eating this fabulous lunch, I bought some baba ganoush, hummus, and tziziki, for some apps for the weekend for my Ri-Ri! Of course, they sold this awesome pita bread that was fresher than anything I’ve found in the groc store (would be good w/ my pizza dip) and only $1.25 compared to like $4.99 in grocery store. Anyway, I was just thinking “hmmmm……wonder if Lauren has ever made baba ganoush? Bet yours would be awesome. That sesame paste just makes it. It was different than I expected……thought since it was eggplant, it would be chunks of eggplant and purple.dark in color. Not so much! HA! I didn’t know it was pureed. Anywhooooo……..thought of you and realized how much I miss you!!! Wish you could go w/ me to this place. I guess it’s packed almost every day for lunch. We went early. Also, it’s in the obscure place, off the beaten path. Love those places. Back to your trip…….the pics you captured on your trip made me feel like I was there in spirit!!!! What sweet little ones…..babies and kiddos!!! What great work you guys did! Love you tons and tons!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.