Posted by: Lauren | March 6, 2011

pasta, pasta

Hi friends & fam! Ok, so a couple weeks ago my sweet friends, Renee, Amelia, and Cindy came over for one of our regular girls’ dinners, and I flopped on taking pictures of them. I wanted to take a group photo, but completely forgot, and so I only have some people pictures of the food and Amelia and I making pasta before the other two arrived.

Did you catch that? Maaade pasta. Amelia is a baller and makes homemade pasta. It was divine, as in, there were some leftovers that I offered Joe the next day, and I was secretly hoping he wouldn’t be able to finish it all and I could have some. My wish came true.

IMG_6322

IMG_6332 IMG_6330 IMG_6331

 

It’s a long process, and that doesn’t even include the dough making, which Meals did before she came over. But rolling it out was rather relaxing. After it gets thin enough, it goes through the fettuccine or spaghetti cutter—we chose fettuccine.

The process was extra nice with music and fancy drinks.

IMG_6337

IMG_6335

Amelia also brought some vodka and Simple (I think that was the brand?) Cosmo mix. Delicious!

Right before Joe left I realized we didn’t have a martini shaker. So he came out with this:

IMG_6333 Worked perfectly!

IMG_6324

So our meal consisted of fettuccine with homemade sauce, turkey meatballs (cheated with Trader Joe’s), homemade light wheat artisan bread, and a big salad.

IMG_6340

I loved this pasta sauce recipe! Joe’s cousin, Elaine, sent me the recipe and it is so simple and so delicious. Especially the next day, I always love pasta the next day. The flavors in the sauce can mingle and I noticed it had more of a kick. She adapted it from a Joy Bauer recipe in a magazine.

Spaghetti Sauce (I cut this recipe in half, which would be like a jar of pasta sauce, and just eyeballed the spices. Next time I’ll make the whole recipe-the leftovers are delicious. I also added just a sprinkle of sea salt.)

2 lg (28 oz) cans crushed tomatoes
2 T balsamic vinegar
1 onion chopped
3-4 cloves garlic
1 T basil
1 T oregano
parsley
pepper
brown sugar (1 T?)
red pepper flakes or tobasco

Sauté the onion in olive oil until soft, adding garlic the last 1 min. of cooking time. Add balsamic vinegar, cook another min. add tomatoes, spices (I use dried), pepper, brown sugar, and red pepper flakes or Tobasco sauce (be careful to not overdo the red pepper flakes if you don’t like spicy). I have also halved this when I only have 1 can of tomatoes.

Dessert was so simple, thanks to a Jamie Oliver app on Amelia’s phone.

IMG_6341

  • vanilla ice cream
  • bananas
  • raisins soaked in rum
  • toasted almonds, chopped
  • whipped cream
  • chocolate sauce
  • dark chocolate shavings

—-

In two weeks, Joe and I will be joining Cindy, our brother-in-law Brandon, and four others from our church to head to Manaus, Brazil for a week! It’s a short term missions trip with our church, where we’ll be working in the English Institutes and visiting children in some orphanages. I am so excited! However, we’ll be saying goodbye to Cindy as she’ll be staying there to work for 6 months! She is amazing– following God’s awesome plan for her life, and while it will be so sad to say goodbye for a time, I know this will be such a blessed time for her.

image

 

Image source

I get these Daily Bible Verse emails, and thought I’d share the verse and commentary. So encouraged by God’s Word and His grace!

“Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners-of whom I am the worst. But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life.” – 1 Timothy 1:15-16

“What good news! Paul calls himself dysfunctional. This is not flowery speech or false humility but a true assessment. We are qualified to do amazing things for God because our qualifications are not based upon us, but God’s unlimited patience. Just like Paul, this understanding should cause all of us to give thanks and praise. When we get this truth we’ll stop placing barriers in front of ourselves that God never intended and God will get the glory! Hallelujah!” Dave Whitehead, senior pastor at GraceNYC.org

xoxo

Lauren

Responses

  1. OMG! Lauren! you look like a little pasta elf in your workshop making pasta!!! you are so cute!! When do I get to come over for a Breeden dinner!? I am so jealous!!! xoxo

    • hahaha thanks julie! whenever you want, my friend!!!

  2. Hi Lauren,
    Just catching up on your blog. I know you’re probably a million miles away now in Brazil. Your girls’ night looks like so much fun!!!! Very cool that you made pasta! Love the ‘tini shaker…..Kudos to Joe. Was moved by the verse you posted. So true. God bless you in your travels.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.